Maya Training

Introduction to Hard Surface Modeling

Maya Training

Interiors and Furniture Vol 1 & 2 - Modeling & Cloth

Maya Training

Shading, Lighting and Rendering the Bedroom in MR

Maya Training

Robot volume one - Modeling with animation in mind

Maya Training

Spach-Alspaugh House the complete courseware

Maya Training

Burt The Cartoon Dinosaur Vol 01 - Modeling

New Maya Training

Robot Volume 02 - Hybrid Rigging
You are here > Home > SimplyMaya Community Forums
Loading

Welcome to Simply Maya

Please Sign in or Sign up for an account

Member Login

Lost your password?

Not a member yet? Sign Up!

Old 20-06-2004, 07:53 PM   #1
DJbLAZER
Registered User
 
DJbLAZER's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Gothenburg, Sweden
Posts: 1,318
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Ugly seam in head model

Im a total beginner at Maya, have used some other 3d-programs a little bit before. Never done any character modelling before though. I've created this head using polygons, but I get a seam that not looks good in the middle. What did I do wrong? How do I correct this?
Attached Thumbnails
 
DJbLAZER is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-06-2004, 08:33 PM   #2
matt4068
Subscriber
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 274
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

hi, before you mirror your model you need to set all of the centre points so that are all in line with eachother, this way when you do mirror it will merge all the points for you. the reason your model has done this is because the points arnt merged at the join. you can either do what i said or merge them manually. Also try going into the polygon mirror options and select merge points.

Matt
matt4068 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-06-2004, 08:51 PM   #3
Ankalagon
Registered User
 
Ankalagon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Novi Sad, Detelinara, Serbia
Posts: 468
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Or you can select that vartex on edge of model and and conecct with same one in mirror object and than scale them in a bit, or you can dload CPS and miror it with it!!! CPS rull for this caind of situation!!
__________________
Best resolt would come, if every one in the group are doing what is best for himself and the group!!

Sorry for bad English, See ya
dead mosquito-blog-on english too
Ankalagon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-06-2004, 08:54 PM   #4
DJbLAZER
Registered User
 
DJbLAZER's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Gothenburg, Sweden
Posts: 1,318
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

As you can see all the vertices are exactly at the center, so that can't be the problem... guess I'll have to try all over again... and this time check if the model look ok a little earlier
Attached Thumbnails
 
DJbLAZER is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-06-2004, 09:12 PM   #5
jsprogg
Lifetime Member
 
jsprogg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Chicago
Posts: 1,706
Thanks: 0
Thanked 85 Times in 77 Posts
Default

hi I noticed from your renders that you have not combined the two halves.
without combining you will always have a little bit of a seam. the first thing you have to do is select one half and shift select the other half ,then under the polygon tab click on combine to make the whole thing one mesh.After this you will have to merge the vertices in the center where the two halves join.
Finally you need to select the center vertices once again and go to edit polygons and at the bottom select normals and choose the soften/harden option, click on the preferences box and select All Soft...it will be set and 180 and then apply.
this will smooth the join.
If though before you have joined your mesh together the center egdes come to a ridge you will still have this ridge although it will be softer , you will have to tweak the verts to level the join to your liking.
hope this helps..goodluck.
__________________


2 x Modeling Challenge Winner
jsprogg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-06-2004, 11:00 PM   #6
DJbLAZER
Registered User
 
DJbLAZER's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Gothenburg, Sweden
Posts: 1,318
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

thanks, ok I will try that now =) But if you look at this attached picture, why do I get a seam when I just move that vertex?
Attached Thumbnails
 
DJbLAZER is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22-06-2004, 04:19 PM   #7
sjlocke
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 65
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Hi,

Like everyone else has said, you do not have the center vertices of your cage merged.

sj
sjlocke is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22-06-2004, 06:47 PM   #8
caligraphics
Registered User
 
caligraphics's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Billund, Denmark
Posts: 992
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

it looks like you accidently moved the vertices on the center.

Just grid snap them to the axis..
__________________
Carsten Lind
Senior 3D Artist,
Maya Software Manager & Maya Instructor
LEGO Systems A/S
caligraphics is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Model Errors Urgent advice!! sreynoso Maya Basics & Newbie Lounge 11 23-10-2014 12:39 PM
Female Head, Marlon John marlonjohn Work In Progress 18 13-01-2011 08:44 AM
Dog Model Vox520 Modeling 7 10-12-2010 10:28 AM

Thread Tools





A little bit about who we are
Links you might find useful
Catch up with SimplyMaya
SimplyMaya specialises in Maya tutorials. We offer over 1,000 individual Maya training videos, ranging from basic Maya tutorials through to intermediate Maya tutorials. Our tutorials are created by instructors with industry experience and are designed to get you up and running in Maya quickly without making it seem like hard work.

Copyright © 1999-2015 SimplyMaya - vBulletin® Copyright © 2000-2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.