Maya Training

Introduction to Hard Surface Modeling

Maya Training

Interiors and Furniture Vol 1 & 2 - Modeling & Cloth

Maya Training

Shading, Lighting and Rendering the Bedroom in MR

Maya Training

Robot volume one - Modeling with animation in mind

Maya Training

Spach-Alspaugh House the complete courseware

Maya Training

Burt The Cartoon Dinosaur Vol 01 - Modeling

New Maya Training

Robot Volume 02 - Hybrid Rigging
You are here > Home > SimplyMaya Community Forums
Loading

Welcome to Simply Maya

Please Sign in or Sign up for an account

Member Login

Lost your password?

Not a member yet? Sign Up!

Old 01-07-2004, 10:08 PM   #1
Kaydray
Registered User
 
Kaydray's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: rhode island, USA
Posts: 46
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Question A few newbie questions re: animation basics

I'm trying (and mostly failing) to do some basic animation stuff...so i've got a few questions.

1. i'm doing a basic skeleton, so i've got a hip, knee, and ankle joint. i created an IK handle from the hip to the ankle- how can i now rotate the knee (on the z and x axes i suppose) without it all collapsing?

2. my skin weights tool is really slow...is that just always how it is or could i be doing something wrong?

3. mmmm i forgot the last question so i'll have to come back another time.

sorry if they're stupid questions (yes, yes, i know there is no such thing), but what kind of newbie would i be if they weren't?
__________________
-katie

"a foolish consistency is the hobgoblin of little minds." - rwe
Kaydray is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-07-2004, 10:29 PM   #2
mtmckinley
The Maya Mountain
 
mtmckinley's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 8,245
Thanks: 1
Thanked 25 Times in 25 Posts
Default

1. place a locator or something in front of the knee. Select the locator, shift select the IK handle. Use Constraints > Pole Vector Constraint. Moving the locator will now move the knee orientation.

2. how much ram do you have? processor speed?
__________________
-Mike
www.mtmckinley.net
The Maya Toolbelt
mtmckinley is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-07-2004, 07:09 PM   #3
Kaydray
Registered User
 
Kaydray's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: rhode island, USA
Posts: 46
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

1. thanks for the knee help!
2. 523,704 KB RAM; pentium 4 1.60GHz

and another question....
Do you know of an MD3 export plugin for Maya 6? i've found one for Maya 5.0, but no luck w/ 6.0
__________________
-katie

"a foolish consistency is the hobgoblin of little minds." - rwe
Kaydray is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-07-2004, 10:13 PM   #4
Kaydray
Registered User
 
Kaydray's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: rhode island, USA
Posts: 46
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Ok, forget md3 export for 6.0.

Instead- does anyone have any tips on exporting md3 files from Maya? (I'm now using maya 5.0)

I've baked the animation to the polymesh (or vertices, I suppose), triangulated the model, and....it won't export, and I'm not sure what else to do.
Eh?
__________________
-katie

"a foolish consistency is the hobgoblin of little minds." - rwe
Kaydray is offline   Reply With Quote

A little bit about who we are
Links you might find useful
Catch up with SimplyMaya
SimplyMaya specialises in Maya tutorials. We offer over 1,000 individual Maya training videos, ranging from basic Maya tutorials through to intermediate Maya tutorials. Our tutorials are created by instructors with industry experience and are designed to get you up and running in Maya quickly without making it seem like hard work.

Copyright © 1999-2015 SimplyMaya - vBulletin® Copyright © 2000-2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.