Maya Training

Introduction to Hard Surface Modeling

Maya Training

Interiors and Furniture Vol 1 & 2 - Modeling & Cloth

Maya Training

Shading, Lighting and Rendering the Bedroom in MR

Maya Training

Robot volume one - Modeling with animation in mind

Maya Training

Spach-Alspaugh House the complete courseware

Maya Training

Burt The Cartoon Dinosaur Vol 01 - Modeling

New Maya Training

Robot Volume 02 - Hybrid Rigging
You are here > Home > SimplyMaya Community Forums
Loading

Welcome to Simply Maya

Please Sign in or Sign up for an account

Member Login

Lost your password?

Not a member yet? Sign Up!

Old 15-07-2004, 12:40 PM   #1
nirsul
Subscriber
 
nirsul's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Haifa, Israel
Posts: 437
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Rendering a volumetric area ?

Is it possible to rerder an area which is contained/enclosed within a cube.

Example: I have a building with 5 stories and need to render stages where each stage reveals a different level within the building - now if I could place a volume and render only what is inside and then move it and render another area - This would be great !

Nir
__________________
Nir Sullam
Architectural Visualizations Page: www.orvatsel.com/index2.html
Maya Page: www.orvatsel.com/maya
www.nirsullam.com
nirsul is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21-07-2004, 12:24 AM   #2
f50
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 88
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

couldn't you just make some cameras and place them in the various parts of your building?
__________________
Car-maker.
Check out my releases for RACER.
see the WWW button
f50 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21-07-2004, 08:27 AM   #3
nirsul
Subscriber
 
nirsul's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Haifa, Israel
Posts: 437
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

I could but this is not what I need

Imagine you have a 5 levels building and you want to show the 3rd level in isometric view without having to cut the building to slices - which is possible but takes a lot of time to do (which is exactly what I have done in this case...!).

In Revit , for example - there is a way to show the modeler only what is enclosed within a user defined box so you may work easily on this area and later - reveal the rest.
__________________
Nir Sullam
Architectural Visualizations Page: www.orvatsel.com/index2.html
Maya Page: www.orvatsel.com/maya
www.nirsullam.com
nirsul is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21-07-2004, 08:32 AM   #4
nirsul
Subscriber
 
nirsul's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Haifa, Israel
Posts: 437
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Here is an example of the final rendering
Attached Thumbnails
 
__________________
Nir Sullam
Architectural Visualizations Page: www.orvatsel.com/index2.html
Maya Page: www.orvatsel.com/maya
www.nirsullam.com
nirsul is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22-07-2004, 01:46 AM   #5
Dann
Registered User
 
Dann's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 695
Thanks: 0
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Default

As far as I know what you're trying to do does not exist in Maya. However, this is a total hack but it could work.


Try making some layered shaders with the shaders you're using as the base layer, and a new shader above them that uses a projection map to blast transparancy accross the terrain. Then you could move the projection node up and down to render each level.

OK, so my description sucks, but I think it should work. Let me know if you need more help and if I have time I'll put together an example.
Dann is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22-07-2004, 07:49 AM   #6
nirsul
Subscriber
 
nirsul's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Haifa, Israel
Posts: 437
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Dann

I think you do need to make small file demonstarting it - I think I will be ablr to figure it out by looking at the shading networks.

thanks

Nir
__________________
Nir Sullam
Architectural Visualizations Page: www.orvatsel.com/index2.html
Maya Page: www.orvatsel.com/maya
www.nirsullam.com
nirsul is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23-07-2004, 06:58 AM   #7
Dann
Registered User
 
Dann's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 695
Thanks: 0
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Default

I think this is what you wanted. In group1, try moving the node "place3dTexture" up and down and see how the different levels get cut away. If you want to use the node to show levels rather than hide them you can change the ramp color to black and set the ramp default color (under color balance) to white.

Also, check out "group2" (hide group1). In this case, the 2 place3texture nodes combine to make a box "render zone" if you will.

Hope this helps.
Attached Files
File Type: ma level.ma (76.3 KB, 14 views)
Dann is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23-07-2004, 11:50 AM   #8
nirsul
Subscriber
 
nirsul's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Haifa, Israel
Posts: 437
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Dann

Thanks

I now have to inverstigate the materials and the method you applied to it all for it to work

THX !

Nir
__________________
Nir Sullam
Architectural Visualizations Page: www.orvatsel.com/index2.html
Maya Page: www.orvatsel.com/maya
www.nirsullam.com

Last edited by nirsul : 23-07-2004 at 12:07 PM.
nirsul is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23-07-2004, 04:27 PM   #9
Dann
Registered User
 
Dann's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 695
Thanks: 0
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Default

It's basically just a single texture projection that's applied as the transparency for all of the shders. I used a ramp texture but with no ramp, just a solid color. Then I turned off the wrapU & wrapV so that it would only blast what's inside the projection node and would not tile. When I set the ramp to white, everything inside the bounderies of the projection is transparant, and because I set the default color to black, everything else is opaque.

I hope that's a bit clearer. The best way to understand is to open up the hypershader, pick a material and graph it. Let your mouse wander over the connector lines and see how the different nodes connect to one another.
Dann is offline   Reply With Quote

A little bit about who we are
Links you might find useful
Catch up with SimplyMaya
SimplyMaya specialises in Maya tutorials. We offer over 1,000 individual Maya training videos, ranging from basic Maya tutorials through to intermediate Maya tutorials. Our tutorials are created by instructors with industry experience and are designed to get you up and running in Maya quickly without making it seem like hard work.

Copyright © 1999-2015 SimplyMaya - vBulletin® Copyright © 2000-2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.