Maya Training

Introduction to Hard Surface Modeling

Maya Training

Interiors and Furniture Vol 1 & 2 - Modeling & Cloth

Maya Training

Shading, Lighting and Rendering the Bedroom in MR

Maya Training

Robot volume one - Modeling with animation in mind

Maya Training

Spach-Alspaugh House the complete courseware

Maya Training

Burt The Cartoon Dinosaur Vol 01 - Modeling

New Maya Training

Robot Volume 02 - Hybrid Rigging
You are here > Home > SimplyMaya Community Forums
Loading

Welcome to Simply Maya

Please Sign in or Sign up for an account

Member Login

Lost your password?

Not a member yet? Sign Up!

Old 26-07-2004, 05:00 PM   #1
Mike Feil
Registered User
 
Mike Feil's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Posts: 5
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default file texture problem ?

I have a simple 2d file texture connected to a blin and I'm trying to place it on this poly object. Anyway when i go to place it on this area (right click assign material to selection) I get this funky grey line thing (look below) and no texture, it doesnt render either. Any ideas whats happening, also when i put the texture on the separate object above it (little roof thing) it worked fine ? any ideas peeps.
Attached Thumbnails
 
Mike Feil is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-07-2004, 05:32 PM   #2
Alan
Moderator
 
Alan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: London, UK
Posts: 2,800
Thanks: 0
Thanked 5 Times in 5 Posts
Default

it doesnt have any uvs. You need to map it properly before you can texture it



Alan
__________________
Technical Director - Framestore

Currently working on: Your Highness

IMDB
Alan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-07-2004, 05:36 PM   #3
Mike Feil
Registered User
 
Mike Feil's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Posts: 5
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

aw k..I'm a tab newbish at texturing.. how would I go about that ?

thanx so far
Mike Feil is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-07-2004, 06:13 PM   #4
vladimirjp
Subscriber
 
vladimirjp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: stuck in the 90's boston, USA
Posts: 1,871
Thanks: 0
Thanked 4 Times in 3 Posts
Default

edit polygon>>texture
automatic mappin (for something like this.
or do a planar map.
__________________
Image dump
vladimirjp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27-07-2004, 02:12 AM   #5
Mike Feil
Registered User
 
Mike Feil's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Posts: 5
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

cool..thanx alot guys !!
Mike Feil is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Problem solving many dynamic objects in a pile? rohiniduggal Dynamics & Special Effects 3 14-01-2011 07:26 PM
apache environment problem andrew_sorensen Simply Maya Tutorials 4 08-12-2010 03:48 PM
Strange Problem - Unable to change attributes for multiple objects anthonysw3 Technical Issues 4 04-12-2010 11:56 PM
Open a Lightwave file in Maya 2011 radiant777 Maya Basics & Newbie Lounge 2 04-12-2010 03:45 AM

Thread Tools





A little bit about who we are
Links you might find useful
Catch up with SimplyMaya
SimplyMaya specialises in Maya tutorials. We offer over 1,000 individual Maya training videos, ranging from basic Maya tutorials through to intermediate Maya tutorials. Our tutorials are created by instructors with industry experience and are designed to get you up and running in Maya quickly without making it seem like hard work.

Copyright © 1999-2015 SimplyMaya - vBulletin® Copyright © 2000-2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.