Maya Training

Introduction to Hard Surface Modeling

Maya Training

Interiors and Furniture Vol 1 & 2 - Modeling & Cloth

Maya Training

Shading, Lighting and Rendering the Bedroom in MR

Maya Training

Robot volume one - Modeling with animation in mind

Maya Training

Spach-Alspaugh House the complete courseware

Maya Training

Burt The Cartoon Dinosaur Vol 01 - Modeling

New Maya Training

Robot Volume 02 - Hybrid Rigging
You are here > Home > SimplyMaya Community Forums
Loading

Welcome to Simply Maya

Please Sign in or Sign up for an account

Member Login

Lost your password?

Not a member yet? Sign Up!

Old 04-08-2004, 02:50 PM   #1
mrmacca
Subscriber
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Texas
Posts: 374
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default Terminating edges

Starting working on a model and as usual the biggest problem i normally face is terminating edges. I've attached a pic. On the right you can see the splits i've created needed to pull out the shape i want. I've gone far beyond this model and got the basic model finished but the splits you see i've continued all the way around the model. It's going to be quite a highly detailed model but i have so much detail there when using subd's it's just way too heavy. Already for just one half and it's not completed i'm at 3360 faces before converting to Subd's. I can't see where else i can termiante the edges other than taking them all the way around the model like i have without creating a load of tri's.

This is going to be rendered in Mental ray using FG and GI.
Attached Thumbnails
 
mrmacca is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-08-2004, 04:01 PM   #2
Alan
Moderator
 
Alan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: London, UK
Posts: 2,800
Thanks: 0
Thanked 5 Times in 5 Posts
Default

why do you need all those edges? they arent doing anything?!
__________________
Technical Director - Framestore

Currently working on: Your Highness

IMDB
Alan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-08-2004, 04:10 PM   #3
mtmckinley
The Maya Mountain
 
mtmckinley's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 8,245
Thanks: 1
Thanked 25 Times in 25 Posts
Default

I would ask the same question.
__________________
-Mike
www.mtmckinley.net
The Maya Toolbelt
mtmckinley is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-08-2004, 04:26 PM   #4
mrmacca
Subscriber
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Texas
Posts: 374
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default

All the edges are there for a reason, as i said, i'm much farther on with the model than in the image, i've just gone back to an old scene file to see how i can maybe redyce the geometery. The pic attached shows the reason for the edges.
Attached Thumbnails
 
mrmacca is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-08-2004, 04:32 PM   #5
mrmacca
Subscriber
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Texas
Posts: 374
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default

This picture shows better how heavy the geometery is becoming. In the area circled i have more finer detail to add and it's so dense. Just don't know if there's a simpler way to do this.
Attached Thumbnails
 
mrmacca is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-08-2004, 04:52 PM   #6
mtmckinley
The Maya Mountain
 
mtmckinley's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 8,245
Thanks: 1
Thanked 25 Times in 25 Posts
Default

Well, I think I'd just let them hang myself.
__________________
-Mike
www.mtmckinley.net
The Maya Toolbelt
mtmckinley is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-08-2004, 05:46 PM   #7
Alan
Moderator
 
Alan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: London, UK
Posts: 2,800
Thanks: 0
Thanked 5 Times in 5 Posts
Default

Mike's right, they're not doing any harm persay. You'd probably spend a lot of time terminating them and then not notice a difference... is it worth it?
__________________
Technical Director - Framestore

Currently working on: Your Highness

IMDB
Alan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-08-2004, 05:48 PM   #8
mrmacca
Subscriber
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Texas
Posts: 374
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default

You mean hang as in the first image? If i convert to subd's with them just ending there the surface looks a little nasty.
mrmacca is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-08-2004, 06:08 PM   #9
mtmckinley
The Maya Mountain
 
mtmckinley's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 8,245
Thanks: 1
Thanked 25 Times in 25 Posts
Default

You might want to extend them a little away from the major deforming parts, but I wouldn't worry about carrying it throughout the model.
__________________
-Mike
www.mtmckinley.net
The Maya Toolbelt
mtmckinley is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-08-2004, 07:14 PM   #10
mrmacca
Subscriber
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Texas
Posts: 374
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default

ok Mike, thanks. That's helps a lot
mrmacca is offline   Reply With Quote

A little bit about who we are
Links you might find useful
Catch up with SimplyMaya
SimplyMaya specialises in Maya tutorials. We offer over 1,000 individual Maya training videos, ranging from basic Maya tutorials through to intermediate Maya tutorials. Our tutorials are created by instructors with industry experience and are designed to get you up and running in Maya quickly without making it seem like hard work.

Copyright © 1999-2015 SimplyMaya - vBulletin® Copyright © 2000-2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.