Maya Training

Introduction to Hard Surface Modeling

Maya Training

Interiors and Furniture Vol 1 & 2 - Modeling & Cloth

Maya Training

Shading, Lighting and Rendering the Bedroom in MR

Maya Training

Robot volume one - Modeling with animation in mind

Maya Training

Spach-Alspaugh House the complete courseware

Maya Training

Burt The Cartoon Dinosaur Vol 01 - Modeling

New Maya Training

Robot Volume 02 - Hybrid Rigging
You are here > Home > SimplyMaya Community Forums
Loading

Welcome to Simply Maya

Please Sign in or Sign up for an account

Member Login

Lost your password?

Not a member yet? Sign Up!

Old 18-08-2004, 01:25 AM   #1
owmyi
Registered User
 
owmyi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Somewhere out there.
Posts: 127
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Making a 'Whiteout' scene

Hi everyone, I have a questions concerning what I have dubbed as a 'whiteout' scene. It's basically where you have a white background/white floor and your object casts simple shadows. It's very minamalistic and I really like the way it looks but I'm having a lot of trouble replicating it in maya. I've tried using a poly plane with lambert set to white, but that doesnt give me the right results. even with Final gather it's still pretty dark. Anyone have the inside scoop on how to do this?



Edit: Almost forgot a link to what I'm talking about

Whiteout Scene
owmyi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18-08-2004, 02:31 AM   #2
swankymonkey
Subscriber
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Northern California
Posts: 445
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

I'm still very much a newbie, but ... what I would do would be mess with the incandescence setting in the COMMON MATERIAL ATTRIBUTES section of the attribute editor. Maybe render it using FINAL GATHER with no lights and a white, incandescent dome over the top of the scene.

I'm curious of what other people think. Its a cool look.

Dave
swankymonkey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18-08-2004, 02:35 AM   #3
NextDesign
Technical Director
 
NextDesign's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 2,982
Thanks: 33
Thanked 532 Times in 471 Posts
Default

Haha. Very funny dude!
__________________
Imagination is more important than knowledge.
NextDesign is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18-08-2004, 05:03 AM   #4
vladimirjp
Subscriber
 
vladimirjp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: stuck in the 90's boston, USA
Posts: 1,871
Thanks: 0
Thanked 4 Times in 3 Posts
Default

the camera you are rendering with (persp i assume) in the attribute editor there is an environment tab, set it to white.
create a light (directional) and set the intensity to a low value (i.e. .01 ) then turn on FG in the render globals, leave it at defaul, or lower it, based on what u are rendering, and u should get a result similar to this\
__________________
Image dump

Last edited by vladimirjp : 18-08-2004 at 05:06 AM.
vladimirjp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19-08-2004, 01:46 PM   #5
owmyi
Registered User
 
owmyi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Somewhere out there.
Posts: 127
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Thanks for the help Vlad, but when I set my enviroment tab to full white it seems to be adding too much light to my scene. All my textures have huge highlights on them and the model is hard to see. Any way of toning this down without turning down the color tab under enviroment settings?
owmyi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-08-2004, 06:50 PM   #6
sjlocke
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 65
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Hey,

Like this?

http://www.digitalplanetdesign.com/i...nt=dpd&media=4
or
http://www.istockphoto.com/file_closeup.php?id=281290

Actually, I have a whiter clock one that isn't online, but it basically was just that scene with the intensities up a bit. Just 1 directional with shadows off, and two spotlights with shadows on. Depth shadows, with the filter on 5.

You can't use incandescence because it cancels out the shadow. You can't assign a light to just the bg, because of the same. Try upping the diffuse on the bg to 1, so it displays all the light it is receiving.

sjlocke
sjlocke is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-08-2004, 10:09 PM   #7
Mantat
Subscriber
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 233
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Originally posted by vladimirjp
... then turn on FG in the render globals, leave it at defaul, or lower it, based on what u are rendering, and u should get a result similar to this\
[/b]
Whats the FG thing you talk about? Cant find it in the menus...
Mantat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21-08-2004, 12:33 AM   #8
vladimirjp
Subscriber
 
vladimirjp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: stuck in the 90's boston, USA
Posts: 1,871
Thanks: 0
Thanked 4 Times in 3 Posts
Default

in the mental ray render globals. Final gather tab. [fg]
an example of a similar render i did...
__________________
Image dump
vladimirjp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21-08-2004, 12:40 AM   #9
Mantat
Subscriber
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 233
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Thanks Vlad, I am testing that thing right now... Seems like render time is much slower...

I really need to replace this laptop by a G5... :bored:
Mantat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21-08-2004, 02:24 PM   #10
Mantat
Subscriber
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 233
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default didnt work...

He Vlad,

I did as you said and my render is way too white as you can see. I set the light to an intensity of 0,01 and didnt change anything in the FG. The material of the dog is a basic lambert.

Anything else to do???
Attached Thumbnails
 
Mantat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21-08-2004, 02:43 PM   #11
vladimirjp
Subscriber
 
vladimirjp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: stuck in the 90's boston, USA
Posts: 1,871
Thanks: 0
Thanked 4 Times in 3 Posts
Default

lower the fg rays to 300-400 and increase the filter size to 2

and put a plane under the dog and assign it a new lambert and give it a small diffuse and make the color white.
make sure the light intensity is set to a really small value, like .001
__________________
Image dump
vladimirjp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22-08-2004, 07:05 AM   #12
swankymonkey
Subscriber
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Northern California
Posts: 445
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Heres what I was talking about

I rendered this using FINALGATHER with a poly plane for a backdrop with incandescence turned all the way up and a poly ground plane with the incandescence turned up slightly. Although you can light the scene with an incandescent plane from above I took Vlads advice and used a directional light and softened the shadow settings. Lighting it with a incandescent plane works fine but you get stronger shadows using an actual light.




Dave
swankymonkey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24-08-2004, 08:03 PM   #13
sjlocke
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 65
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Hi,

Could you link to a file with those reflective balls? I have a similar scene, but my reflective objects keep getting whited out.

sjlocke
__________________
www.digitalplanetdesign.com
sjlocke is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24-08-2004, 11:43 PM   #14
swankymonkey
Subscriber
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Northern California
Posts: 445
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

You mean a scene file? I think I just rendered this scene and didn't save it which I guess was kinda stupid of me. I'll check my files and if I can't find it I'll do it again and post a link.

I don't think this is how the penguin render was done 'cause the shadows in it are VERY dark directly under the figures, but its close. I'd be interested to see any other renders people can come up with to mimic this look. But then, of course, there is always Photoshop!

Any other examples, Vlad?

Dave
swankymonkey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25-08-2004, 06:44 AM   #15
happymat27
Subscriber
 
happymat27's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 1,257
Thanks: 0
Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
Default

hello,

what if you are using a pre mental ray edition of maya? in the rendering globals there is no fg tab, does anyone have any sollutions to this? thanks,

Mat.
happymat27 is offline   Reply With Quote

A little bit about who we are
Links you might find useful
Catch up with SimplyMaya
SimplyMaya specialises in Maya tutorials. We offer over 1,000 individual Maya training videos, ranging from basic Maya tutorials through to intermediate Maya tutorials. Our tutorials are created by instructors with industry experience and are designed to get you up and running in Maya quickly without making it seem like hard work.

Copyright © 1999-2015 SimplyMaya - vBulletin® Copyright © 2000-2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.