Maya Training

Introduction to Hard Surface Modeling

Maya Training

Interiors and Furniture Vol 1 & 2 - Modeling & Cloth

Maya Training

Shading, Lighting and Rendering the Bedroom in MR

Maya Training

Robot volume one - Modeling with animation in mind

Maya Training

Spach-Alspaugh House the complete courseware

Maya Training

Burt The Cartoon Dinosaur Vol 01 - Modeling

New Maya Training

Robot Volume 02 - Hybrid Rigging
You are here > Home > SimplyMaya Community Forums
Loading

Welcome to Simply Maya

Please Sign in or Sign up for an account

Member Login

Lost your password?

Not a member yet? Sign Up!

Old 23-08-2004, 09:34 AM   #1
Mr_Ridd
Registered User
 
Mr_Ridd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 14
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Particles and Animation

Hey

I know the basics of particles and all that stuff but there is one thing I'm not sure how to do.

How do I make the particles only start emitting at a specific frame, not as I press play?

Thanks
__________________
To not take a risk is a risk in itself
Mr_Ridd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23-08-2004, 09:36 AM   #2
kbrown
Moderator
 
kbrown's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: London, UK
Posts: 3,198
Thanks: 0
Thanked 8 Times in 8 Posts
Default Re: Particles and Animation

Originally posted by Mr_Ridd
Hey

I know the basics of particles and all that stuff but there is one thing I'm not sure how to do.

How do I make the particles only start emitting at a specific frame, not as I press play?

Thanks
Key the rate of the emitter...
__________________
Kari
- My Website
- My IMDB

Do a lot, Fail a lot and Learn a lot!
kbrown is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23-08-2004, 09:40 AM   #3
Mr_Ridd
Registered User
 
Mr_Ridd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 14
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Yeah, that will work.

I never thought about that. Thanks.
__________________
To not take a risk is a risk in itself
Mr_Ridd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23-08-2004, 04:10 PM   #4
Dann
Registered User
 
Dann's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 695
Thanks: 0
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Default

You can also set the start frame under Time attributes to not start until the proper frame. This way the whole scene won't even try calculating and particles until that frame.
Dann is offline   Reply With Quote

A little bit about who we are
Links you might find useful
Catch up with SimplyMaya
SimplyMaya specialises in Maya tutorials. We offer over 1,000 individual Maya training videos, ranging from basic Maya tutorials through to intermediate Maya tutorials. Our tutorials are created by instructors with industry experience and are designed to get you up and running in Maya quickly without making it seem like hard work.

Copyright © 1999-2015 SimplyMaya - vBulletin® Copyright © 2000-2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.