Maya Training

Introduction to Hard Surface Modeling

Maya Training

Interiors and Furniture Vol 1 & 2 - Modeling & Cloth

Maya Training

Shading, Lighting and Rendering the Bedroom in MR

Maya Training

Robot volume one - Modeling with animation in mind

Maya Training

Spach-Alspaugh House the complete courseware

Maya Training

Burt The Cartoon Dinosaur Vol 01 - Modeling

New Maya Training

Robot Volume 02 - Hybrid Rigging
You are here > Home > SimplyMaya Community Forums
Loading

Welcome to Simply Maya

Please Sign in or Sign up for an account

Member Login

Lost your password?

Not a member yet? Sign Up!

Old 28-08-2004, 08:49 PM   #1
GateKeeper
Subscriber
 
GateKeeper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Texas
Posts: 171
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Contour Shading

Hello all,

I've stumbled upon an interesting effect for toon shading at
http://www.fenriz.org/projects/maya/

Basically its where the outline of the toon shader shades the contours of the model not just the outer edges. Every toon shader I've seen doesn't do this and this effect the authors says to use Mental Ray to create the effect. However I'm still using Maya 4.0 and do not have access to Mental Ray or any other renderer other than the standard Maya renderer. However I still want to try to capture this effect. Does anyone know of a workaround? Any tips would be greatly appreciated.
__________________
~GateKeeper
Not really certified not really new!
GateKeeper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29-08-2004, 01:59 AM   #2
roach105
Subscriber
 
roach105's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: T.O Baby!
Posts: 1,016
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default

With Maya 6 that process just got alot easier than what the guy is doing. You o longer have to have MR custom shader knowledge to get the contour to work. All you have do do is turn on some settings in the material shader and the render globals. Other than that check out Highend3d for some toon shader plugins or check out Simplymaya plugin section.
roach105 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29-08-2004, 03:19 AM   #3
GateKeeper
Subscriber
 
GateKeeper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Texas
Posts: 171
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Thanks for the point in the right direction.

I'd love to get my hands on Maya 6 and hopefully will be able to get ahold of it but that requires a better financial situation.
__________________
~GateKeeper
Not really certified not really new!
GateKeeper is offline   Reply With Quote

A little bit about who we are
Links you might find useful
Catch up with SimplyMaya
SimplyMaya specialises in Maya tutorials. We offer over 1,000 individual Maya training videos, ranging from basic Maya tutorials through to intermediate Maya tutorials. Our tutorials are created by instructors with industry experience and are designed to get you up and running in Maya quickly without making it seem like hard work.

Copyright © 1999-2015 SimplyMaya - vBulletin® Copyright © 2000-2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.