Maya Training

Introduction to Hard Surface Modeling

Maya Training

Interiors and Furniture Vol 1 & 2 - Modeling & Cloth

Maya Training

Shading, Lighting and Rendering the Bedroom in MR

Maya Training

Robot volume one - Modeling with animation in mind

Maya Training

Spach-Alspaugh House the complete courseware

Maya Training

Burt The Cartoon Dinosaur Vol 01 - Modeling

New Maya Training

Robot Volume 02 - Hybrid Rigging
You are here > Home > SimplyMaya Community Forums
Loading

Welcome to Simply Maya

Please Sign in or Sign up for an account

Member Login

Lost your password?

Not a member yet? Sign Up!

Old 06-09-2004, 09:01 PM   #1
Jay
Senior Modeler - Framestore
 
Jay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: UK
Posts: 6,234
Thanks: 39
Thanked 425 Times in 381 Posts
Default Environment

Hi Guys

This is a WiP of a rather big environment that I'm doing at the moment. Thought I'd put it here as a couple of you have PM'd me to see how I do stuff. The columns have been sculpted with artisan BUT flooding images of rocks to do it!!

_J
Attached Thumbnails
 
Jay is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-09-2004, 09:11 PM   #2
RubberChicken
Subscriber
 
RubberChicken's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: That place with all those people
Posts: 1,041
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

W()()T! Nice, has a real desert feeling to it, gr8 work Mr Jango.
__________________
Watch Space Wars at www.3dden.co.uk now!
__________________________

My pin number is XXXX
RubberChicken is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-09-2004, 09:27 PM   #3
Jay
Senior Modeler - Framestore
 
Jay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: UK
Posts: 6,234
Thanks: 39
Thanked 425 Times in 381 Posts
Default

Cheers RC
Jay is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-09-2004, 10:51 PM   #4
murph
Subscriber
 
murph's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: ENGLAND
Posts: 404
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

thats pretty cool

have you tried bryce 5, ~~~~way back when i first learned of 3d work from my brother, he lent me his puter and he had bryce 5 on it, and it was soo simple to create landscapes,

look it up, there must be a trial out there - and im not 100% sure but, im sure you can export to Maya 2...


cheers - Murph
__________________
MURPH
murph is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-09-2004, 12:09 AM   #5
twisteddragon33
Registered User
 
twisteddragon33's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: New York, USA
Posts: 1,945
Thanks: 0
Thanked 45 Times in 45 Posts
Default

Bryce is good for landscapes if you figure it out, but only as the backgrounds. Only backgrounds and horizons in my opinion. But i did manage to make this in it:
Attached Thumbnails
 
__________________
________________________
AIM: SublimeDragon33
Catch me if i'm on. Always up for a chat.
e-mail: sublimedragon33@gmail.com
twisteddragon33 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-09-2004, 10:58 AM   #6
Jay
Senior Modeler - Framestore
 
Jay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: UK
Posts: 6,234
Thanks: 39
Thanked 425 Times in 381 Posts
Default

Hey Murph
Yeah I've got bryce and its only useful for backgrounds, skies etc. I bought it a couple of years ago (Version4). If you check out the latest Teaser thread you'll see it in full flow for the sky and distant mountains

_J
Jay is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-09-2004, 11:13 AM   #7
Alan
Moderator
 
Alan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: London, UK
Posts: 2,800
Thanks: 0
Thanked 5 Times in 5 Posts
Default

that's a lot of polys for just some rocks how about displacing them rather than sculpting them?



Alan
__________________
Technical Director - Framestore

Currently working on: Your Highness

IMDB
Alan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-09-2004, 01:51 PM   #8
Jay
Senior Modeler - Framestore
 
Jay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: UK
Posts: 6,234
Thanks: 39
Thanked 425 Times in 381 Posts
Default

Hi Alan
Yeah I did think about displacement maps but I thought about the time it takes to render and work out the tesselation. Plus I'm thinking about using mental ray for the renders and I dont wanna put the render times thru the roof.
Its one of those 'swings and roundabouts' things I suppose.

Cheers for now
_J
Jay is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
apache environment problem andrew_sorensen Simply Maya Tutorials 4 08-12-2010 03:48 PM

Thread Tools





A little bit about who we are
Links you might find useful
Catch up with SimplyMaya
SimplyMaya specialises in Maya tutorials. We offer over 1,000 individual Maya training videos, ranging from basic Maya tutorials through to intermediate Maya tutorials. Our tutorials are created by instructors with industry experience and are designed to get you up and running in Maya quickly without making it seem like hard work.

Copyright © 1999-2015 SimplyMaya - vBulletin® Copyright © 2000-2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.