Maya Training

Introduction to Hard Surface Modeling

Maya Training

Interiors and Furniture Vol 1 & 2 - Modeling & Cloth

Maya Training

Shading, Lighting and Rendering the Bedroom in MR

Maya Training

Robot volume one - Modeling with animation in mind

Maya Training

Spach-Alspaugh House the complete courseware

Maya Training

Burt The Cartoon Dinosaur Vol 01 - Modeling

New Maya Training

Robot Volume 02 - Hybrid Rigging
You are here > Home > SimplyMaya Community Forums
Loading

Welcome to Simply Maya

Please Sign in or Sign up for an account

Member Login

Lost your password?

Not a member yet? Sign Up!

Old 07-09-2004, 12:41 AM   #1
MorituriMax
Subscriber
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 49
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Wierd peeling problem from P to SD

Converted this object from polygon to subD and cannot figure out why it keeps peeling at the corners.. I've combined the seperate polygon objects to one, did merge vertices, etc..

See image, pre and post for illustration.. I think it's probably simple but it is eluding me.. maybe bad habits from lightwave and rhino3d days..

scratching head..
Attached Thumbnails
 
MorituriMax is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-09-2004, 01:20 AM   #2
Kurt
Registered User
 
Kurt's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Niagara Falls, Canada
Posts: 5,283
Thanks: 0
Thanked 64 Times in 64 Posts
Default

The vertices in that section are not merged... Just select that spot and merge them again.
__________________
I am enough of an artist to draw freely upon my imagination, knowledge is limited, imagination encircles the world. (Albert Einstein)

http://kurtboutilier.cgsociety.org/
Kurt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-09-2004, 01:36 AM   #3
MorituriMax
Subscriber
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 49
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Hmmm, I tried it, seemed to work had to drag select that intersection to get the seperate vertices.. now when I try and convert to subD, nothing happens and I get a result 0 thing in the text box... arggggg
MorituriMax is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-09-2004, 01:39 AM   #4
Kurt
Registered User
 
Kurt's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Niagara Falls, Canada
Posts: 5,283
Thanks: 0
Thanked 64 Times in 64 Posts
Default

Post up the file and i'll have a look if you want when i can get to it.

But from the pictures it have something to do with the verts,
__________________
I am enough of an artist to draw freely upon my imagination, knowledge is limited, imagination encircles the world. (Albert Einstein)

http://kurtboutilier.cgsociety.org/
Kurt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-09-2004, 01:46 AM   #5
MorituriMax
Subscriber
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 49
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Ok Dk.. here it is.. my layers thing looks pretty strange, still learning how cut and paste does strange things.. it's the main polygon object..

I place a small cone object pointing right at the problem area I was illustrating..

Thanks
Arg

PS the result:0 (error?) message i was getting is the most annoying thing.. I have had a couple times where my polygon object stopped allowing itself to be converted to a subD, not sure why..
Attached Files
File Type: mb gbfight.mb (167.5 KB, 14 views)
MorituriMax is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-09-2004, 01:58 AM   #6
Kurt
Registered User
 
Kurt's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Niagara Falls, Canada
Posts: 5,283
Thanks: 0
Thanked 64 Times in 64 Posts
Default

Ok all I did was polygon> clean up > Nonmanifold Geometry make sure its clicked on. Also went to edit polygons> Normals> and hit each of the options except reverse and soften/harden.

The normals I think was giving you the trouble.
Attached Files
File Type: mb gbfightkurt.mb (156.4 KB, 14 views)
__________________
I am enough of an artist to draw freely upon my imagination, knowledge is limited, imagination encircles the world. (Albert Einstein)

http://kurtboutilier.cgsociety.org/
Kurt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-09-2004, 02:21 AM   #7
MorituriMax
Subscriber
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 49
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

I'm still messed up.. I do all that but as soon as I merge vertices in one area, the thing will no longer convert to subD.. and my little text status thing shows result:0

I am so about ready to go back to lightwave.. arg

Tried all the other things and still have that vertex thingie.. grin.. where is mtmkinley with a video tutorial of what you did.. heh
MorituriMax is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Problem solving many dynamic objects in a pile? rohiniduggal Dynamics & Special Effects 3 14-01-2011 07:26 PM
apache environment problem andrew_sorensen Simply Maya Tutorials 4 08-12-2010 03:48 PM
Strange Problem - Unable to change attributes for multiple objects anthonysw3 Technical Issues 4 04-12-2010 11:56 PM

Thread Tools





A little bit about who we are
Links you might find useful
Catch up with SimplyMaya
SimplyMaya specialises in Maya tutorials. We offer over 1,000 individual Maya training videos, ranging from basic Maya tutorials through to intermediate Maya tutorials. Our tutorials are created by instructors with industry experience and are designed to get you up and running in Maya quickly without making it seem like hard work.

Copyright © 1999-2015 SimplyMaya - vBulletin® Copyright © 2000-2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.