Maya Training

Introduction to Hard Surface Modeling

Maya Training

Interiors and Furniture Vol 1 & 2 - Modeling & Cloth

Maya Training

Shading, Lighting and Rendering the Bedroom in MR

Maya Training

Robot volume one - Modeling with animation in mind

Maya Training

Spach-Alspaugh House the complete courseware

Maya Training

Burt The Cartoon Dinosaur Vol 01 - Modeling

New Maya Training

Robot Volume 02 - Hybrid Rigging
You are here > Home > SimplyMaya Community Forums
Loading

Welcome to Simply Maya

Please Sign in or Sign up for an account

Member Login

Lost your password?

Not a member yet? Sign Up!

Old 14-09-2004, 01:27 AM   #1
harveymarks
Registered User
 
harveymarks's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Madison WI
Posts: 2
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Unhappy Grid Numbers

I've been using maya since 4.0 and have used grids to help scale. I used grid on axis and edge depending where the item is and angle. Recently after installing 6 on a new machine with same video card ATI RAGE pro. I have been unable to get Ortho views to show numbers. Persp is showing them, but not in ortho. I'e tried everything I can think of including changing from cm to foot and grid values i.e. length,grid lines every, subdivisions.
I've turned grids off/on globally and by panes.

Any ideas appreciated.
Run 6.01 on XP pro sp2(upgraded from sp1 didn't work b4 upgrade). Intel pent4 3.02GHZ with 1g DDR 400mgz Ram.
__________________
OrOrNil4evr
harveymarks is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15-09-2004, 11:25 AM   #2
Mr_Flamenco
Registered User
 
Mr_Flamenco's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Oman
Posts: 42
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

hi there

one of these two solution should slove the problem ***HOPEFULY***
1-try to create a new object then go to four veiw mode then backto prespective veiw then undo
if this fixed the problem, then you have to upgrade you display driver to the latest ATI driver

2-try to rest your preferences you can do that by
windows==> setting and preferences ==> preference then in the menu rest it to dfault settings

hope that will help
__________________
Mr_Flamenco™( the Man Who Summoned By Mankind)
Mr_Flamenco is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16-09-2004, 11:47 PM   #3
harveymarks
Registered User
 
harveymarks's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Madison WI
Posts: 2
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

I've tried reset and deleting pref folder forcing Maya to recreate. Haven't tried the other. I'll give that a try and let you know.
I'm already planning for a new Vid card.
Thanks for the response.
__________________
OrOrNil4evr
harveymarks is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17-09-2004, 07:57 AM   #4
t3logy
Subscriber
 
t3logy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 159
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Originally posted by Mr_Flamenco
hi there

one of these two solution should slove the problem ***HOPEFULY***
1-try to create a new object then go to four veiw mode then backto prespective veiw then undo
if this fixed the problem, then you have to upgrade you display driver to the latest ATI driver

2-try to rest your preferences you can do that by
windows==> setting and preferences ==> preference then in the menu rest it to dfault settings

hope that will help
I had that problem and as soon as I upgraded my ATI driver it resolved.

Good call.

t3
t3logy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18-09-2004, 10:41 AM   #5
Mr_Flamenco
Registered User
 
Mr_Flamenco's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Oman
Posts: 42
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

i had the same problem

but my card was NVidia card

so this is an open GL problem just updating it sould work hopefuly

there is a good website for these stuff but i unfotunatlly not at home now ..but i will post it as soon i will get it

all the best bro
__________________
Mr_Flamenco™( the Man Who Summoned By Mankind)
Mr_Flamenco is offline   Reply With Quote

A little bit about who we are
Links you might find useful
Catch up with SimplyMaya
SimplyMaya specialises in Maya tutorials. We offer over 1,000 individual Maya training videos, ranging from basic Maya tutorials through to intermediate Maya tutorials. Our tutorials are created by instructors with industry experience and are designed to get you up and running in Maya quickly without making it seem like hard work.

Copyright © 1999-2015 SimplyMaya - vBulletin® Copyright © 2000-2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.