Maya Training

Introduction to Hard Surface Modeling

Maya Training

Interiors and Furniture Vol 1 & 2 - Modeling & Cloth

Maya Training

Shading, Lighting and Rendering the Bedroom in MR

Maya Training

Robot volume one - Modeling with animation in mind

Maya Training

Spach-Alspaugh House the complete courseware

Maya Training

Burt The Cartoon Dinosaur Vol 01 - Modeling

New Maya Training

Robot Volume 02 - Hybrid Rigging
You are here > Home > SimplyMaya Community Forums
Loading

Welcome to Simply Maya

Please Sign in or Sign up for an account

Member Login

Lost your password?

Not a member yet? Sign Up!

Old 10-10-2004, 03:45 AM   #1
Christian Kugler
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: oakland/berkeley, CA
Posts: 14
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default deleting nurbs history

when i delete the history after i have used to global stich the global stich does not work anymore and the nurbs patches seperate. I am worried becuase before you animate you have to delete the history? Does anyone have any solutions or am i doing something wrong?
Christian Kugler is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-10-2004, 03:57 AM   #2
mtmckinley
The Maya Mountain
 
mtmckinley's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 8,245
Thanks: 1
Thanked 25 Times in 25 Posts
Default

You can try leaving the global stitch history on there, but it'll probably be a bit sluggish.

Otherwise, you'd need to paint the weights of the joints being used so that the patches don't come apart during animation. Kinda tedious.
__________________
-Mike
www.mtmckinley.net
The Maya Toolbelt
mtmckinley is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-10-2004, 04:01 AM   #3
Christian Kugler
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: oakland/berkeley, CA
Posts: 14
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

what about just grouping it after all the changes are made? but if i group it will that still give it a history? might this work?

thanks

christian
Christian Kugler is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-10-2004, 04:56 AM   #4
vladimirjp
Subscriber
 
vladimirjp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: stuck in the 90's boston, USA
Posts: 1,871
Thanks: 0
Thanked 4 Times in 3 Posts
Default

Originally posted by Christian Kugler
what about just grouping it after all the changes are made? but if i group it will that still give it a history? might this work?

thanks

christian
you need to global stitch history to remain on the patches. otherwise they will not be seamless. even if you weight them properly, the will break during animation or the tangents will not remain continious.
global stitch is necessary for a patch model to be animatable [properly animated as if a single continious surface].
grouping them will not help.
__________________
Image dump
vladimirjp is offline   Reply With Quote

A little bit about who we are
Links you might find useful
Catch up with SimplyMaya
SimplyMaya specialises in Maya tutorials. We offer over 1,000 individual Maya training videos, ranging from basic Maya tutorials through to intermediate Maya tutorials. Our tutorials are created by instructors with industry experience and are designed to get you up and running in Maya quickly without making it seem like hard work.

Copyright © 1999-2015 SimplyMaya - vBulletin® Copyright © 2000-2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.