Maya Training

Introduction to Hard Surface Modeling

Maya Training

Interiors and Furniture Vol 1 & 2 - Modeling & Cloth

Maya Training

Shading, Lighting and Rendering the Bedroom in MR

Maya Training

Robot volume one - Modeling with animation in mind

Maya Training

Spach-Alspaugh House the complete courseware

Maya Training

Burt The Cartoon Dinosaur Vol 01 - Modeling

New Maya Training

Robot Volume 02 - Hybrid Rigging
You are here > Home > SimplyMaya Community Forums
Loading

Welcome to Simply Maya

Please Sign in or Sign up for an account

Member Login

Lost your password?

Not a member yet? Sign Up!

Old 11-10-2004, 04:04 AM   #1
OmeNu
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 15
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Question Rendering Question

is it possible to Render a Movie with a Transparent Background. if so please state how to do this. as i'm trying to a tempt to create Web based Graphics and i really REALY dont want to go though every frame. removing the background in each Frame.
__________________
OmeNu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-2004, 03:26 PM   #2
goosemage
Registered User
 
goosemage's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: USA
Posts: 50
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

If you have photoshop, as long as you have the alpha map intact, you can go to channels ctrl+click alpha channel, click the all channels,then click and drag the selected to a new image with nothing and save with photoshop to a .gif or something. I don't see why you would need your movie to blend in with the background of your website.
goosemage is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-2004, 03:35 PM   #3
LauriePriest
Moderator
 
LauriePriest's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: London
Posts: 1,001
Thanks: 0
Thanked 59 Times in 51 Posts
Default

save out the alpha with a format that surports it = rgba
__________________
FX supervisor - double negative
LauriePriest is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-2004, 08:22 PM   #4
Phopojijo
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 408
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Okay, yes -- but you need to buy another piece of hardware (well... software... but the word hardware seemed to sound cooler)... Quicktime Pro

When you save out your frames, save them out in the Targa format, then string them together using Quicktime (I'm not sure if Maya for Mac has Quicktime export with alpha channel) saving the color depth as millions of colors+ -- the plus is the alpha channel.

Quicktime Millions of Colors+ can be opened by various programs like After Effects, etc. You'll need to know a bit of terminology they use though.

Remember to set as Targa frames with Alphachannel in the render globals!!! :b
Phopojijo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-2004, 08:43 PM   #5
OmeNu
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 15
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Unhappy

ooooooooooooook well. the reason i need the background transparent is because im doing the site in layers. and i want the background picture to show as if the logo thats rotating is just in front if the background. and having the background transparent i can place the logo where ever i would like on the site. with out getting a bounding box or having to have multiple logo rotation pictures. which saves load time and space. as for photoshop i do have that program version CS i belive. but i dont know it vary well. i whish there was a way to set background transparentcy in Maya as i know there's a flash Export as thats what i will be using to animate the logo. i will try your Quick time idea. hopfuly i works and i do it correctly. :bored:
__________________
OmeNu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-2004, 09:54 PM   #6
NitroLiq
Moderator
 
NitroLiq's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: New York
Posts: 2,133
Thanks: 0
Thanked 10 Times in 9 Posts
Default

Just go into Render Globals and make sure the "alpha" check box is ticked for the object. Then, render out the image sequence as tiff or tga. The final step would be importing the sequence into a compositing application such as videomach, after, effects, shake, etc. where you would add all the various layers and output to a final movie format. You might want to check out our Render Globals video that goes into all the RG settings as well as rendering out the images and bringing them into the free video editing app, videomach. You could Also check out Rage's Intro to Compositing tutorial which is another good one. Both are in the video tutorial archives.
__________________
"Terminat Bora Diem, Terminal Auctor opus."
NitroLiq is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-2004, 11:17 PM   #7
OmeNu
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 15
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Talking

KOOOOOO! i figured it out thanks all of ya for your tips/Info on ways of doing it you've been a great help.. glad to be apart of this forum, with such Smart peeps. will post site here for you guy guys to see and understand what i was refering to just so you can see what i was working on... when im done that is. but dont expect any professonal work. OmeNu= Noob at this point. but im work'n on it.
__________________
OmeNu is offline   Reply With Quote

A little bit about who we are
Links you might find useful
Catch up with SimplyMaya
SimplyMaya specialises in Maya tutorials. We offer over 1,000 individual Maya training videos, ranging from basic Maya tutorials through to intermediate Maya tutorials. Our tutorials are created by instructors with industry experience and are designed to get you up and running in Maya quickly without making it seem like hard work.

Copyright © 1999-2015 SimplyMaya - vBulletin® Copyright © 2000-2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.