Maya Training

Introduction to Hard Surface Modeling

Maya Training

Interiors and Furniture Vol 1 & 2 - Modeling & Cloth

Maya Training

Shading, Lighting and Rendering the Bedroom in MR

Maya Training

Robot volume one - Modeling with animation in mind

Maya Training

Spach-Alspaugh House the complete courseware

Maya Training

Burt The Cartoon Dinosaur Vol 01 - Modeling

New Maya Training

Robot Volume 02 - Hybrid Rigging
You are here > Home > SimplyMaya Community Forums
Loading

Welcome to Simply Maya

Please Sign in or Sign up for an account

Member Login

Lost your password?

Not a member yet? Sign Up!

Old 23-10-2004, 10:24 AM   #1
Drought
Subscriber
 
Drought's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Japan
Posts: 51
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default Lag in Maya 5 after Windows update

Hello all,

I am having problems with lag in Maya 5.

I have a Toshiba Satellite Laptop with the following specs:

32 MB GeForce 460 Go video card
512 MB Ram
Intel Pentium 4 2.2 Ghz CPU


I reinstalled Windows, and it worked fine, until I patched with Windows update. It slows down when I am doing Kurt's dog tutorial, putting an image on the image plane.

Anyway, what I want to know is this...since it seems like I am only having lag after the Windows updates (which are kind of important), is there anything I can do to optimize my system? Some kind of trick with the installation maybe?


Thanks in advance.

Drought
Drought is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23-10-2004, 04:08 PM   #2
goosemage
Registered User
 
goosemage's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: USA
Posts: 50
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Its helpful to know you exact OS, I'm guessing you have Winxp. I've only heard bad things about sp2, I have not installed it. I think it causes more bugs than it fixes.
goosemage is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23-10-2004, 05:08 PM   #3
Drought
Subscriber
 
Drought's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Japan
Posts: 51
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default

Yes, I am using Windows XP...I have not installed SP2, but have installed other security patches in windows update...after removing 3 or 4 of them, I have found that Maya is working very well...but it would be nice if I could have the security patches (other than sp2) too...

Drought
Drought is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Maya Hair/Polygon Error ingram_no.7 Members Lounge 13 10-12-2010 11:27 AM
Simply Maya Resources Online Miss_Nova Site News & Announcements 1 08-12-2010 09:36 PM
LayoutTools for Maya 2011 is here... ctbram Members Lounge 1 06-12-2010 11:32 PM
Open a Lightwave file in Maya 2011 radiant777 Maya Basics & Newbie Lounge 2 04-12-2010 03:45 AM

Thread Tools





A little bit about who we are
Links you might find useful
Catch up with SimplyMaya
SimplyMaya specialises in Maya tutorials. We offer over 1,000 individual Maya training videos, ranging from basic Maya tutorials through to intermediate Maya tutorials. Our tutorials are created by instructors with industry experience and are designed to get you up and running in Maya quickly without making it seem like hard work.

Copyright © 1999-2015 SimplyMaya - vBulletin® Copyright © 2000-2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.