Maya Training

Introduction to Hard Surface Modeling

Maya Training

Interiors and Furniture Vol 1 & 2 - Modeling & Cloth

Maya Training

Shading, Lighting and Rendering the Bedroom in MR

Maya Training

Robot volume one - Modeling with animation in mind

Maya Training

Spach-Alspaugh House the complete courseware

Maya Training

Burt The Cartoon Dinosaur Vol 01 - Modeling

New Maya Training

Robot Volume 02 - Hybrid Rigging
You are here > Home > SimplyMaya Community Forums
Loading

Welcome to Simply Maya

Please Sign in or Sign up for an account

Member Login

Lost your password?

Not a member yet? Sign Up!

Old 31-10-2004, 08:41 PM   #1
discostu
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 37
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Question Folding Cloth

I have a cloth draped over a box in my maya scene. At the corners, the cloth hangs loosely. I want to fold those triangular pieces against the box like you would when wrapping a package. How do I do this (if possible)?


Thanks,
Stu
Attached Thumbnails
 
discostu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-11-2004, 05:09 AM   #2
discostu
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 37
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

hmmm...i'm gonna guess that nobody know the answer. I tried messing around with the initial shape using stitching, but my first attempt made it look a lot worse. I think it was the right track though, but it would take me a while (and I mean a long while) to figure it out, so I'm just gonna try to make a shader that looks like cloth.
discostu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-11-2004, 10:35 AM   #3
Ibex
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 8
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

seems like nobody wants to help u discostu
my sugestion would be to create a seem slightly
away from the edges before you solve the cloth.
But creating a cloth texture will also do it.


stay functional.
fuctional 3d always looks better in the end.

Last edited by Ibex : 09-11-2004 at 10:37 AM.
Ibex is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-11-2004, 04:28 PM   #4
discostu
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 37
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

yea, I guess my questions are too hard. Thanks for your reply, Ibex. What do you mean by "stay functional"?
discostu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-11-2004, 07:21 AM   #5
Ibex
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 8
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Just my latest motto

So many times in my 3d career I have had to go back
and change models and animation because initially I was
"covering up" the fact that my models were not actually
functional they just appeared to be.Just masked by cheap effects and tricks.

Maya understands physics to a certain degree and that which it does not can easily be programmed to.

I have found that trying to stay as close to how the object would function in our reality is most often the best mode
of operation. In some cases this may mean
alot of extra work but I have found this to be useful coz
90% of the time you have to go back and reuse an older model or ani rig.

This is also personal opinion and project dependant.

ibex

Last edited by Ibex : 10-11-2004 at 07:24 AM.
Ibex is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-11-2004, 01:33 PM   #6
logins
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 1
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Originally posted by Ibex
Just my latest motto

So many times in my 3d career I have had to go back
and change models and animation because initially I was
"covering up" the fact that my models were not actually
functional they just appeared to be.Just masked by cheap effects and tricks.

Maya understands physics to a certain degree and that which it does not can easily be programmed to.

I have found that trying to stay as close to how the object would function in our reality is most often the best mode
of operation. In some cases this may mean
alot of extra work but I have found this to be useful coz
90% of the time you have to go back and reuse an older model or ani rig.

This is also personal opinion and project dependant.

ibex
logins is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-11-2004, 11:20 AM   #7
Ibex
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 8
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

odd?
Ibex is offline   Reply With Quote

A little bit about who we are
Links you might find useful
Catch up with SimplyMaya
SimplyMaya specialises in Maya tutorials. We offer over 1,000 individual Maya training videos, ranging from basic Maya tutorials through to intermediate Maya tutorials. Our tutorials are created by instructors with industry experience and are designed to get you up and running in Maya quickly without making it seem like hard work.

Copyright © 1999-2015 SimplyMaya - vBulletin® Copyright © 2000-2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.