Maya Training

Introduction to Hard Surface Modeling

Maya Training

Interiors and Furniture Vol 1 & 2 - Modeling & Cloth

Maya Training

Shading, Lighting and Rendering the Bedroom in MR

Maya Training

Robot volume one - Modeling with animation in mind

Maya Training

Spach-Alspaugh House the complete courseware

Maya Training

Burt The Cartoon Dinosaur Vol 01 - Modeling

New Maya Training

Robot Volume 02 - Hybrid Rigging
You are here > Home > SimplyMaya Community Forums
Loading

Welcome to Simply Maya

Please Sign in or Sign up for an account

Member Login

Lost your password?

Not a member yet? Sign Up!

Old 04-10-2002, 04:11 AM   #1
Blinn
Registered User
 
Blinn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Nova Scotia
Posts: 290
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Post Shaders

This is a very newbish question, but I guess thats why the forum is here.
How do I use all the cool shaders I download?
eg : the ones from this site.
Blinn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-10-2002, 09:56 PM   #2
ragecgi
Super Moderator
 
ragecgi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Minnesota, USA
Posts: 3,709
Thanks: 0
Thanked 13 Times in 12 Posts
Default Quick video tut for you...

No problem!

Download this quick 5 minute video tutorial I did on this subject
http://www.ragecgi.com/public/ImportShaders.zip
About 3.5 Meg.


For those who don't want to download the vid:
Simply place all of your downloaded shaders into a folder,
and when you want to use them in Maya on an object, do this:

1. Open the Hypershade
You can find this by going to: Window > Rendering Editors > Hypershade

2. Then, when the Hypershade opens, go to FILE > Import.

3. Browse to your folder of shaders, and choose one.

4. The chosen shader will appear in the big Materials area.

5. Select your object(s).

6. In the hypershade, RIGHT-CLICk over your imported shader,
and choose "Asign Materials to Selection".

That's it!

Enjoy!
__________________
Israel "Izzy" Long
Motion and Title Design for Broadcast-Film-DS
izzylong.com
ragecgi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-10-2002, 07:56 PM   #3
Nem
Subscriber
 
Nem's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Faringdon, UK
Posts: 1,480
Thanks: 0
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Default

now the question is, well, my question, how do you export a shader network to its own shader file so u can import that into another scene?
__________________
- Simon

My Website: www.Glass-Prison.com
Nem is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-10-2002, 07:59 PM   #4
mtmckinley
The Maya Mountain
 
mtmckinley's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 8,245
Thanks: 1
Thanked 25 Times in 25 Posts
Default

Select the material and in the Hypershade go to File > Export Selected Network... save it as an .mb or .ma file.

When next you want to use it, in the Hypershade, File > Import...

Choose the .mb or .ma file and it'll add the material network to your list...

Not too tough.
__________________
-Mike
www.mtmckinley.net
The Maya Toolbelt
mtmckinley is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-10-2002, 09:53 PM   #5
Nem
Subscriber
 
Nem's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Faringdon, UK
Posts: 1,480
Thanks: 0
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Default

i knew that nah, thx mike
__________________
- Simon

My Website: www.Glass-Prison.com
Nem is offline   Reply With Quote

A little bit about who we are
Links you might find useful
Catch up with SimplyMaya
SimplyMaya specialises in Maya tutorials. We offer over 1,000 individual Maya training videos, ranging from basic Maya tutorials through to intermediate Maya tutorials. Our tutorials are created by instructors with industry experience and are designed to get you up and running in Maya quickly without making it seem like hard work.

Copyright © 1999-2015 SimplyMaya - vBulletin® Copyright © 2000-2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.