Maya Training

Introduction to Hard Surface Modeling

Maya Training

Interiors and Furniture Vol 1 & 2 - Modeling & Cloth

Maya Training

Shading, Lighting and Rendering the Bedroom in MR

Maya Training

Robot volume one - Modeling with animation in mind

Maya Training

Spach-Alspaugh House the complete courseware

Maya Training

Burt The Cartoon Dinosaur Vol 01 - Modeling

New Maya Training

Robot Volume 02 - Hybrid Rigging
You are here > Home > SimplyMaya Community Forums
Loading

Welcome to Simply Maya

Please Sign in or Sign up for an account

Member Login

Lost your password?

Not a member yet? Sign Up!

Old 07-12-2004, 09:41 AM   #1
lemon
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: japan
Posts: 19
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default poly or subdivisions (jaggered edge problem)

please take a look at image 1 and 2

image 01


image 02


the first is a polygon mesh created with the maximum no. of subdivisions. Notice the edge is jaggered. This is after i have applied maximum *soften edge* option - 180.0000

I would like to be able to make interactive web models and so the polycount needs to be low. But the only thing that seems to get rid of this jagger (which is only on the edge) is excessive smoothing which takes the poly count skyward and out into the abyss.

The second image is the same object with no smoothing or softening but modified/converted from polygon to subdivision. Note the beautifuly smooth edge.

Can anybody please help me with this problem that has been beyond my comprehension since the begining of time.

thank you
lemon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-12-2004, 07:05 AM   #2
DgAPc
Subscriber
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 123
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default

Theres no way to fix that. Plus Think about your shot. Are you gona be that close for a render. A little farther back you won't even notice it.
DgAPc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13-12-2004, 11:52 AM   #3
lemon
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: japan
Posts: 19
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

damb!

thats a very simple but good point

thanks
lemon is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Problem solving many dynamic objects in a pile? rohiniduggal Dynamics & Special Effects 3 14-01-2011 07:26 PM
Strange Problem - Unable to change attributes for multiple objects anthonysw3 Technical Issues 4 04-12-2010 11:56 PM

Thread Tools





A little bit about who we are
Links you might find useful
Catch up with SimplyMaya
SimplyMaya specialises in Maya tutorials. We offer over 1,000 individual Maya training videos, ranging from basic Maya tutorials through to intermediate Maya tutorials. Our tutorials are created by instructors with industry experience and are designed to get you up and running in Maya quickly without making it seem like hard work.

Copyright © 1999-2015 SimplyMaya - vBulletin® Copyright © 2000-2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.