Maya Training

Introduction to Hard Surface Modeling

Maya Training

Interiors and Furniture Vol 1 & 2 - Modeling & Cloth

Maya Training

Shading, Lighting and Rendering the Bedroom in MR

Maya Training

Robot volume one - Modeling with animation in mind

Maya Training

Spach-Alspaugh House the complete courseware

Maya Training

Burt The Cartoon Dinosaur Vol 01 - Modeling

New Maya Training

Robot Volume 02 - Hybrid Rigging
You are here > Home > SimplyMaya Community Forums
Loading

Welcome to Simply Maya

Please Sign in or Sign up for an account

Member Login

Lost your password?

Not a member yet? Sign Up!

Old 17-12-2004, 12:04 AM   #1
JochenRenner88
Registered User
 
JochenRenner88's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 2
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Snow Tutorial

Hi all, in the "Snow Tutorial Part 1" it is explained how to create snow with dynamics. Ive done so far, but the snow isn´t renderable with "Mental Ray" only with "Hardware Renderer", any ideas what I am doing wrong?!
JochenRenner88 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17-12-2004, 06:06 AM   #2
LittleDragonsTao
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 1
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

hey I am a newbie here but try switching what type of particle it is. next to the particle type there should be an s/w for software. Those bottom few are the only ones which I believe can be software rendered with maya software and mental ray.

Link
LittleDragonsTao is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19-12-2004, 06:04 PM   #3
JochenRenner88
Registered User
 
JochenRenner88's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 2
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Thanks for quick answer, you´re right with that! But there are only a few s/w´s and I want something like sprites to map different bitmaps for the snowflakes (cause the size), i´ve tried it with clouds s/w and it looks nearly like i want it, but all have the same size, any idea...? Thx for all replies!
JochenRenner88 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22-12-2004, 11:25 AM   #4
Jupkuh
Subscriber
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 16
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

select your particles... go to the attribute editor (ctrl+A)... go to "add dynamic attributes" and pick general. Then klik on the tabarticle. From this list select RadiusPP (radius per particle) and click Add.

In your attribute editor, click "Per particle (array) attributes" and you will see RadiusPP in the list.

Now rightclick and select: creation expression
Type: particleShape1.radiusPP=rand(1,2)

Play with the numbers until you have the result you like.

Grtz
Jupkuh is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
SimplyMaya 2010 - Subscriber Updates Miss_Nova Site News & Announcements 6 13-09-2011 10:37 PM

Thread Tools





A little bit about who we are
Links you might find useful
Catch up with SimplyMaya
SimplyMaya specialises in Maya tutorials. We offer over 1,000 individual Maya training videos, ranging from basic Maya tutorials through to intermediate Maya tutorials. Our tutorials are created by instructors with industry experience and are designed to get you up and running in Maya quickly without making it seem like hard work.

Copyright © 1999-2015 SimplyMaya - vBulletin® Copyright © 2000-2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.