Maya Training

Introduction to Hard Surface Modeling

Maya Training

Interiors and Furniture Vol 1 & 2 - Modeling & Cloth

Maya Training

Shading, Lighting and Rendering the Bedroom in MR

Maya Training

Robot volume one - Modeling with animation in mind

Maya Training

Spach-Alspaugh House the complete courseware

Maya Training

Burt The Cartoon Dinosaur Vol 01 - Modeling

New Maya Training

Robot Volume 02 - Hybrid Rigging
You are here > Home > SimplyMaya Community Forums
Loading

Welcome to Simply Maya

Please Sign in or Sign up for an account

Member Login

Lost your password?

Not a member yet? Sign Up!

Old 28-12-2004, 03:27 PM   #1
azimuth
Subscriber
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 119
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default Maya F1 help not working

A quick question, each time I press F1 or go to Help -> Maya Help..., maya simply loads up my internet browser and tries to load this url - http://localhost:4446/Maya6.0/en_US/index.html. At which point everything comes to a halt since I'm certainly not running a web server on that port, and I'm greeted by a lovely "could not connect to remote server" error box

Does anyone know where Maya keeps its help files after a normal install, are they in a format I can do anything with - pdf/html or something?

Cheers
azimuth is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28-12-2004, 03:33 PM   #2
antiant
Subscriber
 
antiant's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Melbourne
Posts: 462
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

hi, they help files should be around the same address as this. Most of it compressed files, so its a bit of a pain, but its all there.

C:\Program Files\AliasWavefront\Maya5.0\docs\Documents\Maya5. 0\en_US
__________________
There's nothing normal about normals. In FACT i think the are abnormal.
antiant is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28-12-2004, 06:13 PM   #3
Dann
Registered User
 
Dann's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 695
Thanks: 0
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Default

Also, you can try launching the help server through youtr start menu>Programs>Alias>Maya6>View Maya Docs
Dann is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28-12-2004, 09:51 PM   #4
azimuth
Subscriber
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 119
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default

Managed to get it working in the end.

Seems like I had disabled the Alias Documentation service (inside services.msc)

Loaded it up and everything worked first time.

Cheers for the pointers guys
azimuth is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29-12-2004, 04:42 AM   #5
beyondjtu
Registered User
 
beyondjtu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: China
Posts: 2
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Thumbs up

Maybe It's the HTTP Proxy caused that problemy the F1 couldn't work.Because the Maya help is a local server.

several weeks ago this problem puzzled me too.Then I found that the HTTP Proxy makes troble.
__________________
Without Maya,I can do nothing!!
beyondjtu is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Maya Hair/Polygon Error ingram_no.7 Members Lounge 13 10-12-2010 11:27 AM
Simply Maya Resources Online Miss_Nova Site News & Announcements 1 08-12-2010 09:36 PM
LayoutTools for Maya 2011 is here... ctbram Members Lounge 1 06-12-2010 11:32 PM
Open a Lightwave file in Maya 2011 radiant777 Maya Basics & Newbie Lounge 2 04-12-2010 03:45 AM

Thread Tools





A little bit about who we are
Links you might find useful
Catch up with SimplyMaya
SimplyMaya specialises in Maya tutorials. We offer over 1,000 individual Maya training videos, ranging from basic Maya tutorials through to intermediate Maya tutorials. Our tutorials are created by instructors with industry experience and are designed to get you up and running in Maya quickly without making it seem like hard work.

Copyright © 1999-2015 SimplyMaya - vBulletin® Copyright © 2000-2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.