Maya Training

Introduction to Hard Surface Modeling

Maya Training

Interiors and Furniture Vol 1 & 2 - Modeling & Cloth

Maya Training

Shading, Lighting and Rendering the Bedroom in MR

Maya Training

Robot volume one - Modeling with animation in mind

Maya Training

Spach-Alspaugh House the complete courseware

Maya Training

Burt The Cartoon Dinosaur Vol 01 - Modeling

New Maya Training

Robot Volume 02 - Hybrid Rigging
You are here > Home > SimplyMaya Community Forums
Loading

Welcome to Simply Maya

Please Sign in or Sign up for an account

Member Login

Lost your password?

Not a member yet? Sign Up!

Old 24-01-2005, 08:15 AM   #1
gohan1842
Subscriber
 
gohan1842's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 1,060
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default uv texture problem

ok. im trying to texture a leg of my robot. and whenever i try to layout the texture the image wont even show up right in the texture editor. here is what i do:
1. i create a lambert texture and apply the image to the lambert color.
2. then i go to the texture editor.
3. then i click on the leg and do planar mapping.

here are the turnouts.
Attached Thumbnails
 
__________________
I'm not a geek. I'm a nerd.

msn - g1842@hotmail.com
I'm up for a chat anytime.
gohan1842 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24-01-2005, 08:16 AM   #2
gohan1842
Subscriber
 
gohan1842's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 1,060
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

and here is the texture. i just dont think its supposed to look like it does in the editor.
Attached Thumbnails
 
__________________
I'm not a geek. I'm a nerd.

msn - g1842@hotmail.com
I'm up for a chat anytime.
gohan1842 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24-01-2005, 09:31 AM   #3
mhcannon
Subscriber
 
mhcannon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Waianae, HI
Posts: 1,275
Thanks: 0
Thanked 9 Times in 8 Posts
Default

Am I correct in thinking that dark area with the two dots should appear in the rectangular faces of the object? If so, scale and reposition the UVs over on those areas in the UV editor.

Tip: With the exception of tumbling, the same controls that you use to navigae in the modelling panels work in the UV editor. So you can still dolly and pan within the UV editor.

Also, the UV editor has it's own marking menu... right-click to open this menu to switch component selection modes. Working with UVs is very similar to working with vertices.

Final note, since you used planar projection, two or your object's side may appear incorrect along with the top and bottom (texture stretched across them). You would have to do at least two planar projection to get the sides correct and third is your concerned about the texture on the top an bottom.

Planar=flat, anything not parallel to the plane of projection may (and probably will appear distorted).
__________________

AIM: mhcannonDMC

"If you love your job, you'll never work another day in your life."
mhcannon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24-01-2005, 07:06 PM   #4
gohan1842
Subscriber
 
gohan1842's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 1,060
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

thx but mayb i didnt get the question out. the texture editor isnt viewing my image right on the grid. it stretches the image out.
__________________
I'm not a geek. I'm a nerd.

msn - g1842@hotmail.com
I'm up for a chat anytime.
gohan1842 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24-01-2005, 10:41 PM   #5
mhcannon
Subscriber
 
mhcannon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Waianae, HI
Posts: 1,275
Thanks: 0
Thanked 9 Times in 8 Posts
Default

All your textures should have square resolutions such 512x512, 1024x1024, etc. I'm suspecting at this point that your is not square. If this is that case, increase/decrease you image size accordingly. If you're using photoshop use change the canvas size.
__________________

AIM: mhcannonDMC

"If you love your job, you'll never work another day in your life."
mhcannon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24-01-2005, 10:46 PM   #6
gohan1842
Subscriber
 
gohan1842's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 1,060
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

yes it is square. its 128x128
__________________
I'm not a geek. I'm a nerd.

msn - g1842@hotmail.com
I'm up for a chat anytime.
gohan1842 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Problem solving many dynamic objects in a pile? rohiniduggal Dynamics & Special Effects 3 14-01-2011 07:26 PM
Strange Problem - Unable to change attributes for multiple objects anthonysw3 Technical Issues 4 04-12-2010 11:56 PM

Thread Tools





A little bit about who we are
Links you might find useful
Catch up with SimplyMaya
SimplyMaya specialises in Maya tutorials. We offer over 1,000 individual Maya training videos, ranging from basic Maya tutorials through to intermediate Maya tutorials. Our tutorials are created by instructors with industry experience and are designed to get you up and running in Maya quickly without making it seem like hard work.

Copyright © 1999-2015 SimplyMaya - vBulletin® Copyright © 2000-2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.