Maya Training

Introduction to Hard Surface Modeling

Maya Training

Interiors and Furniture Vol 1 & 2 - Modeling & Cloth

Maya Training

Shading, Lighting and Rendering the Bedroom in MR

Maya Training

Robot volume one - Modeling with animation in mind

Maya Training

Spach-Alspaugh House the complete courseware

Maya Training

Burt The Cartoon Dinosaur Vol 01 - Modeling

New Maya Training

Robot Volume 02 - Hybrid Rigging
You are here > Home > SimplyMaya Community Forums
Loading

Welcome to Simply Maya

Please Sign in or Sign up for an account

Member Login

Lost your password?

Not a member yet? Sign Up!

Old 10-10-2002, 02:16 PM   #1
Ripper
Registered User
 
Ripper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Posts: 4
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Unhappy rendering as AVI problem

I've encountered this problem a few times and would like to know if there is a fix. I was working through a tutorial I had found where you link objects in your animation. The animation consists of 2 ships, one is poly, the other is nurb.

When I animate, I can see all the movement in the wireframe windows, but when I try to animate as an avi, it doesn't create anything. The globals are set correctly and the log shows something to the effect of "cannot find ship2" even though it shows up fine in the wire views with hardware texture and shading on.

I really hope I explained the problem well enough with enough information.

Nothing is more annoying than woking on something for a couple of days and then finding out it just won't work
Ripper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-2002, 02:18 PM   #2
Oculus
Subscriber
 
Oculus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Murfreesboro, TN
Posts: 175
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

When you set the settings to render as a .avi, it only spits on a one frame .avi? I had this problem for the LONGEST time, and couldnt figure it out...

You could try loading the preset> Moviesetup. That worked for me once or twice. Otherwise, if you have something like Adobe Premiere, you can just compile your render .tgas (or whatever else) into an animation and have complete control over compression setting. =]
__________________
- Chris L. Harkins -
Oculus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-2002, 02:33 PM   #3
Kevin
 
Posts: n/a
Default

nice post Oculus!! and a big welcome to Simply Maya
  Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-2002, 02:40 PM   #4
mtmckinley
The Maya Mountain
 
mtmckinley's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 8,245
Thanks: 1
Thanked 25 Times in 25 Posts
Default

Are you referencing ship2 from another file?
__________________
-Mike
www.mtmckinley.net
The Maya Toolbelt
mtmckinley is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-10-2002, 09:30 PM   #5
Ripper
Registered User
 
Ripper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Posts: 4
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

I am referencing 2 files outside of the main rendering file. All the textures and the objects show up when I render, thats what perplexes me so much.,

No, it's not being rendered as a single frame AVI, it's not being rendered at all as an AVI... but it will render each frame individually, so yes, maybe something like Adobe Premier might be my only answer, although it would be nice if the program would do what it's supposed to do
Ripper is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Problem solving many dynamic objects in a pile? rohiniduggal Dynamics & Special Effects 3 14-01-2011 07:26 PM
apache environment problem andrew_sorensen Simply Maya Tutorials 4 08-12-2010 03:48 PM
Strange Problem - Unable to change attributes for multiple objects anthonysw3 Technical Issues 4 04-12-2010 11:56 PM

Thread Tools





A little bit about who we are
Links you might find useful
Catch up with SimplyMaya
SimplyMaya specialises in Maya tutorials. We offer over 1,000 individual Maya training videos, ranging from basic Maya tutorials through to intermediate Maya tutorials. Our tutorials are created by instructors with industry experience and are designed to get you up and running in Maya quickly without making it seem like hard work.

Copyright © 1999-2015 SimplyMaya - vBulletin® Copyright © 2000-2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.