Maya Training

Introduction to Hard Surface Modeling

Maya Training

Interiors and Furniture Vol 1 & 2 - Modeling & Cloth

Maya Training

Shading, Lighting and Rendering the Bedroom in MR

Maya Training

Robot volume one - Modeling with animation in mind

Maya Training

Spach-Alspaugh House the complete courseware

Maya Training

Burt The Cartoon Dinosaur Vol 01 - Modeling

New Maya Training

Robot Volume 02 - Hybrid Rigging
You are here > Home > SimplyMaya Community Forums
Loading

Welcome to Simply Maya

Please Sign in or Sign up for an account

Member Login

Lost your password?

Not a member yet? Sign Up!

Old 28-01-2005, 11:57 AM   #1
Pepe99
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Poland
Posts: 7
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Particles and Mental Ray Render

Hi I have a question, Is there any way to render the particles with Mental Ray ?? I have a scene (buildings) and I render it by mental ray. Now I added some particles (surface emiter) to simulate rain effect. But there is no any particles displayed after render in MR. Help please !!

p.s Sorry for my English
Pepe99 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28-01-2005, 12:46 PM   #2
roach105
Subscriber
 
roach105's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: T.O Baby!
Posts: 1,016
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default

most particles can only be hardware render. You can change the shape of these particles in the particle shape attribute. There is a list of what you actually want. if it says s/w next to it than you can use software render like mental ray. all others must be rendered via hardware rendering. I hope this makes sense
Attached Thumbnails
 
roach105 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28-01-2005, 12:48 PM   #3
roach105
Subscriber
 
roach105's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: T.O Baby!
Posts: 1,016
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default

If you don't know what the difference is check out Maya Help section. It goes into depth what the differences are.

If you need to stick with hardware rendered particles for the rain than you will have to composite them in another package afterwards.
roach105 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28-01-2005, 08:49 PM   #4
Pepe99
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Poland
Posts: 7
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Big thanks to you Roach105 !!!! Yes, it has sense I know that I'm annoying ... but do You know how to make a rain via s/w render attributes ( in MR of course Maybe using a "tube s/w" attributes ? What do you think ? But thanks any way for reply

Regards
Pepe99 is offline   Reply With Quote

A little bit about who we are
Links you might find useful
Catch up with SimplyMaya
SimplyMaya specialises in Maya tutorials. We offer over 1,000 individual Maya training videos, ranging from basic Maya tutorials through to intermediate Maya tutorials. Our tutorials are created by instructors with industry experience and are designed to get you up and running in Maya quickly without making it seem like hard work.

Copyright © 1999-2015 SimplyMaya - vBulletin® Copyright © 2000-2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.