Maya Training

Introduction to Hard Surface Modeling

Maya Training

Interiors and Furniture Vol 1 & 2 - Modeling & Cloth

Maya Training

Shading, Lighting and Rendering the Bedroom in MR

Maya Training

Robot volume one - Modeling with animation in mind

Maya Training

Spach-Alspaugh House the complete courseware

Maya Training

Burt The Cartoon Dinosaur Vol 01 - Modeling

New Maya Training

Robot Volume 02 - Hybrid Rigging
You are here > Home > SimplyMaya Community Forums
Loading

Welcome to Simply Maya

Please Sign in or Sign up for an account

Member Login

Lost your password?

Not a member yet? Sign Up!

Old 29-01-2005, 06:12 AM   #1
Ainnst
Subscriber
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 2
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Extrude face. (solved)

Hey. I know this is going to be a really simply question to answer, but oh well... My excuse is that I'm still relatively new to maya =]

Whenever I'm extruding multiple faces -in different xyz plane configurations- at the same time, instead of pulling them all and creating one fluid shape I keep pulling the individual faces for some reason. What happens is the individual face gets pulled back, and the 'edge' where two faces meet gets extended and turns into a set of two new flat-faces.

Does anyone have any idea what I'm doing wrong or what setting I forgot?

Last edited by Ainnst : 29-01-2005 at 01:34 PM.
Ainnst is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29-01-2005, 08:50 AM   #2
mhcannon
Subscriber
 
mhcannon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Waianae, HI
Posts: 1,275
Thanks: 0
Thanked 9 Times in 8 Posts
Default

Under polygon menu there is an option for "keep faces together" ensure that it is checked.
__________________

AIM: mhcannonDMC

"If you love your job, you'll never work another day in your life."
mhcannon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29-01-2005, 01:34 PM   #3
Ainnst
Subscriber
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 2
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

I got it to work.


For some reason my model had duplicated vertices on top of one another so it set the second vertex as the anchor-point when I was pulling, hence the boxes I was creating accidentally. =P
Ainnst is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Extrude Manipulator does not appear Celebrus Technical Issues 11 15-10-2013 09:37 PM

Thread Tools





A little bit about who we are
Links you might find useful
Catch up with SimplyMaya
SimplyMaya specialises in Maya tutorials. We offer over 1,000 individual Maya training videos, ranging from basic Maya tutorials through to intermediate Maya tutorials. Our tutorials are created by instructors with industry experience and are designed to get you up and running in Maya quickly without making it seem like hard work.

Copyright © 1999-2015 SimplyMaya - vBulletin® Copyright © 2000-2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.