Maya Training

Introduction to Hard Surface Modeling

Maya Training

Interiors and Furniture Vol 1 & 2 - Modeling & Cloth

Maya Training

Shading, Lighting and Rendering the Bedroom in MR

Maya Training

Robot volume one - Modeling with animation in mind

Maya Training

Spach-Alspaugh House the complete courseware

Maya Training

Burt The Cartoon Dinosaur Vol 01 - Modeling

New Maya Training

Robot Volume 02 - Hybrid Rigging
You are here > Home > SimplyMaya Community Forums
Loading

Welcome to Simply Maya

Please Sign in or Sign up for an account

Member Login

Lost your password?

Not a member yet? Sign Up!

Old 25-02-2005, 01:30 AM   #1
mgreen
Subscriber
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: washington D.C.
Posts: 14
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Apache Polygon Smooth Proxy Problem

Hey guys, I just started to do the apache tutorail but Im having a little problem, In the Second video tutorial of the modeling section. when I apply the Polygons Smooth Proxy, I do not get the two additional layers added to my layer list (the pCylinder1SmoothMesh and pCylinder1ProxyMesh) . I dont have the PolySmoothFace1 in the channels box, I only have a PolySmoothProxy Drop down box w/o a Divisions Box.

Can someone please help me out, I really want to continue finishing up the tutorial.

Thank You.

Matt
mgreen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25-02-2005, 10:17 AM   #2
kbrown
Moderator
 
kbrown's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: London, UK
Posts: 3,198
Thanks: 0
Thanked 8 Times in 8 Posts
Default

Did you reset the settings in the Smooth Proxy options? Don't worry about not having the layers. Later on in the tute I noticed that they're just pain in the butt and turned that feature off. The PolySmoothFace1 should appear in the channel box when you select the smoothed version of you mesh (not the original mesh).
__________________
Kari
- My Website
- My IMDB

Do a lot, Fail a lot and Learn a lot!
kbrown is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-02-2005, 01:32 AM   #3
mgreen
Subscriber
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: washington D.C.
Posts: 14
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

I did reset the smooth proxy settings but it did not do anything. when I click on the smooth mesh, not the original mesh, I still dont have the PolySmoothFace1 in my channels box, Im not sure what im doing wrong.
mgreen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-02-2005, 07:58 AM   #4
kbrown
Moderator
 
kbrown's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: London, UK
Posts: 3,198
Thanks: 0
Thanked 8 Times in 8 Posts
Default

Could you send me your scene file as a private message and I'll have a look at it? Save it in maya ascii format (.ma), if you're on maya 6 or 6.5...
__________________
Kari
- My Website
- My IMDB

Do a lot, Fail a lot and Learn a lot!
kbrown is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-02-2005, 06:01 PM   #5
mhcannon
Subscriber
 
mhcannon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Waianae, HI
Posts: 1,275
Thanks: 0
Thanked 9 Times in 8 Posts
Default

did you delete history at any point? That would have removed the polysmoothproxy input node.
__________________

AIM: mhcannonDMC

"If you love your job, you'll never work another day in your life."
mhcannon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-02-2005, 10:07 PM   #6
mgreen
Subscriber
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: washington D.C.
Posts: 14
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

how do i upload a file with private message. I want to pm you but i cant upload the (.ma file). Unless you want the code which I doubt. thank you though
mgreen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-02-2005, 10:43 PM   #7
mgreen
Subscriber
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: washington D.C.
Posts: 14
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

here is my file, thank you for the help
Attached Files
File Type: ma apachehelechop.ma (110.1 KB, 22 views)
mgreen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27-02-2005, 10:42 AM   #8
kbrown
Moderator
 
kbrown's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: London, UK
Posts: 3,198
Thanks: 0
Thanked 8 Times in 8 Posts
Default

Well, I didn't have any problems smooth proxying your mesh. Can you attach a file where you have already done the smooth proxy so I can see if you've done it right.
__________________
Kari
- My Website
- My IMDB

Do a lot, Fail a lot and Learn a lot!
kbrown is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27-02-2005, 08:18 PM   #9
mgreen
Subscriber
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: washington D.C.
Posts: 14
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Here it is with smooth proxy, but no face1 in my channel box.
Attached Files
File Type: ma apachesmooth.ma (109.8 KB, 16 views)
mgreen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27-02-2005, 10:15 PM   #10
kbrown
Moderator
 
kbrown's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: London, UK
Posts: 3,198
Thanks: 0
Thanked 8 Times in 8 Posts
Default

Unfortunately it seems like they have changed something between Maya 5 and 6. I couldn't see the smoothed version of the mesh at all. It gave me this:

// Warning: file: C:/Temp/apachesmooth.ma line 2432: Unrecognized node type 'polySmoothProxy'; preserving node information during this session. //

Anyway, all I can suggest is that you get the latest patch to your Maya, if you haven't done so. Another option is that you try to use the attached file. I did the smooth proxy for you in my Maya 5.

Sorry I couldn't help you better. Maybe someone with Maya 6 can?
Attached Files
File Type: ma kbapachesmooth.ma (104.0 KB, 19 views)
__________________
Kari
- My Website
- My IMDB

Do a lot, Fail a lot and Learn a lot!
kbrown is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Problem solving many dynamic objects in a pile? rohiniduggal Dynamics & Special Effects 3 14-01-2011 07:26 PM
apache environment problem andrew_sorensen Simply Maya Tutorials 4 08-12-2010 03:48 PM
Strange Problem - Unable to change attributes for multiple objects anthonysw3 Technical Issues 4 04-12-2010 11:56 PM

Thread Tools





A little bit about who we are
Links you might find useful
Catch up with SimplyMaya
SimplyMaya specialises in Maya tutorials. We offer over 1,000 individual Maya training videos, ranging from basic Maya tutorials through to intermediate Maya tutorials. Our tutorials are created by instructors with industry experience and are designed to get you up and running in Maya quickly without making it seem like hard work.

Copyright © 1999-2015 SimplyMaya - vBulletin® Copyright © 2000-2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.