Maya Training

Introduction to Hard Surface Modeling

Maya Training

Interiors and Furniture Vol 1 & 2 - Modeling & Cloth

Maya Training

Shading, Lighting and Rendering the Bedroom in MR

Maya Training

Robot volume one - Modeling with animation in mind

Maya Training

Spach-Alspaugh House the complete courseware

Maya Training

Burt The Cartoon Dinosaur Vol 01 - Modeling

New Maya Training

Robot Volume 02 - Hybrid Rigging
You are here > Home > SimplyMaya Community Forums
Loading

Welcome to Simply Maya

Please Sign in or Sign up for an account

Member Login

Lost your password?

Not a member yet? Sign Up!

Old 27-02-2005, 02:50 AM   #1
stickdude
Registered User
 
stickdude's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: I live inside my computer
Posts: 79
Thanks: 0
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Default Is it possible to cut out a surface with a curve?

I am working on a spaceship, and I was wondering if it is possible to use a curve ( or projected curve ) to cut out or detach a portion of a surface. I know you can do it with Isoparms, but I need something a little more flexible

If any1 knows, please walk me through.


P.S. I used Rhino 3.0 before, and there was a command called split, where you do that kind of stuff ^^^ , so that is where I got the idea.
__________________
Imagination is more important than knowledge...
--Albert Einstein
stickdude is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27-02-2005, 10:30 AM   #2
LauriePriest
Moderator
 
LauriePriest's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: London
Posts: 1,001
Thanks: 0
Thanked 59 Times in 51 Posts
Default

you want to remove the area insides a curve on surface yeh? use the trim tool and you should be able to do it.
__________________
FX supervisor - double negative
LauriePriest is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28-02-2005, 02:31 AM   #3
stickdude
Registered User
 
stickdude's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: I live inside my computer
Posts: 79
Thanks: 0
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Default

hey, is it possible to remove it and still keep the surface inside? Just asking.

Thanks for the reply...
__________________
Imagination is more important than knowledge...
--Albert Einstein
stickdude is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28-02-2005, 08:35 AM   #4
mhcannon
Subscriber
 
mhcannon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Waianae, HI
Posts: 1,275
Thanks: 0
Thanked 9 Times in 8 Posts
Default

Sure, in the Trim Tool tool options check "Keep Original" then when you trim, you'll still have your original object and a newly created surface in the shape of the trim.
__________________

AIM: mhcannonDMC

"If you love your job, you'll never work another day in your life."
mhcannon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28-02-2005, 03:02 PM   #5
stickdude
Registered User
 
stickdude's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: I live inside my computer
Posts: 79
Thanks: 0
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Default

ya, that did it... thanx guys!!
__________________
Imagination is more important than knowledge...
--Albert Einstein
stickdude is offline   Reply With Quote

A little bit about who we are
Links you might find useful
Catch up with SimplyMaya
SimplyMaya specialises in Maya tutorials. We offer over 1,000 individual Maya training videos, ranging from basic Maya tutorials through to intermediate Maya tutorials. Our tutorials are created by instructors with industry experience and are designed to get you up and running in Maya quickly without making it seem like hard work.

Copyright © 1999-2015 SimplyMaya - vBulletin® Copyright © 2000-2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.