Maya Training

Introduction to Hard Surface Modeling

Maya Training

Interiors and Furniture Vol 1 & 2 - Modeling & Cloth

Maya Training

Shading, Lighting and Rendering the Bedroom in MR

Maya Training

Robot volume one - Modeling with animation in mind

Maya Training

Spach-Alspaugh House the complete courseware

Maya Training

Burt The Cartoon Dinosaur Vol 01 - Modeling

New Maya Training

Robot Volume 02 - Hybrid Rigging
You are here > Home > SimplyMaya Community Forums
Loading

Welcome to Simply Maya

Please Sign in or Sign up for an account

Member Login

Lost your password?

Not a member yet? Sign Up!

Old 18-03-2005, 02:42 AM   #1
Darkseeker
Registered User
 
Darkseeker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 30
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Mar/Apr - Noob - Darkseeker

This contest is so fitting...you know, that m ovie Robots! Anywho im in and im going to get to work on it and post my prog.

this is also my first post hehe
Darkseeker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18-03-2005, 03:22 AM   #2
Darkseeker
Registered User
 
Darkseeker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 30
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

ok im made my choice that it is going to be based on house hold cleaning. Its going to have many functions, and a programmable intereface so it does the job for you (tell me if im getting to in depth hehe).. Its going to have extendable arms that are also flexible that can have many different attachments like cleaner bottles, dusters etc. It also is equiped with a vaccume in the front. I still brainstorming what it might look like but i should have a rough sketch here pretty soon...
Darkseeker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19-03-2005, 02:05 AM   #3
Darkseeker
Registered User
 
Darkseeker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 30
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

ok i got some sketches done...just need to scan them in...but my scanner decided not to work...ill prolly have them up tomarrow from my good ol' friend's house.
Darkseeker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-03-2005, 07:23 AM   #4
Darkseeker
Registered User
 
Darkseeker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 30
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Well...i couldnt get my drawings scanned in so im wingin it. This is what i got so far. Though im still seeking more suitable shaders.


edit : o and btw this i s the vaccume part of it...the body of it is in the works and thats where this leads too....could'v place the light in a more feasable place too...
Attached Thumbnails
 

Last edited by Darkseeker : 20-03-2005 at 07:26 AM.
Darkseeker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-03-2005, 07:24 AM   #5
Darkseeker
Registered User
 
Darkseeker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 30
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

another perspective ...
Attached Thumbnails
 
Darkseeker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21-03-2005, 02:50 AM   #6
Darkseeker
Registered User
 
Darkseeker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 30
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

you know what...im scrapping this idea! im going to build a robat (humanoid) that rapairs/ makes electronics....this will be a lot more complex then what i had in mind for this....vaccume....cleaner....thing.
Darkseeker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21-03-2005, 05:15 AM   #7
Darkseeker
Registered User
 
Darkseeker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 30
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Did some work on the head...still going to make some adjustments to it, but heres what i got...
Attached Thumbnails
 
Darkseeker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21-03-2005, 05:16 AM   #8
Darkseeker
Registered User
 
Darkseeker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 30
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

and the back...
Attached Thumbnails
 
Darkseeker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22-03-2005, 02:49 AM   #9
metallicjet66
Subscriber
 
metallicjet66's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Florida, U.S.A
Posts: 517
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

right on!! keep goin man..keep pusing ur self
__________________
Aim:Nshad BB Court
msn:nothinbutchains@hotmail.com
metallicjet66 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22-03-2005, 09:33 PM   #10
gohan1842
Subscriber
 
gohan1842's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 1,060
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

add some more light to the scene. can barely see anything
__________________
I'm not a geek. I'm a nerd.

msn - g1842@hotmail.com
I'm up for a chat anytime.
gohan1842 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-03-2005, 01:16 AM   #11
Darkseeker
Registered User
 
Darkseeker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 30
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

well this is really the first project (besides the many learning scenarios and videos that ive been thorug) i have ever done so if u could give me some tips on some lighting or something....i c an never get it to look quite right......im still learning!!!
Darkseeker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-03-2005, 05:31 AM   #12
Eelco
Registered User
 
Eelco's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: In my dreams
Posts: 152
Thanks: 0
Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
Default

3-point lighting is very commen technique to light objects in your scene. Check out the following tutorials:

http://web.alfredstate.edu/ciat/tuto...ghtLinking.htm
http://www.andrew-whitehurst.net/3point.html (uses light-linking but is not described in the tutorial)
Eelco is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-03-2005, 05:35 AM   #13
Darkseeker
Registered User
 
Darkseeker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 30
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

thanks! ill check that out in a min...but i see to have run into something simple...but cant solve.

maya seems to want to select things in control vertex mode, not the normal selection mode. and it makes it so i cant select multiple objects at the same time...lol i know its prolly VERY simple...but i cant seem to findhow to turn it back
Darkseeker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-03-2005, 05:36 AM   #14
gohan1842
Subscriber
 
gohan1842's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 1,060
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

press f8 to switch from component mode to object mode
__________________
I'm not a geek. I'm a nerd.

msn - g1842@hotmail.com
I'm up for a chat anytime.
gohan1842 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-03-2005, 05:41 AM   #15
Darkseeker
Registered User
 
Darkseeker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 30
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

oh crud i didnt even think of that...i knew it was soooo simple....but hey im here to learn
Darkseeker is offline   Reply With Quote

A little bit about who we are
Links you might find useful
Catch up with SimplyMaya
SimplyMaya specialises in Maya tutorials. We offer over 1,000 individual Maya training videos, ranging from basic Maya tutorials through to intermediate Maya tutorials. Our tutorials are created by instructors with industry experience and are designed to get you up and running in Maya quickly without making it seem like hard work.

Copyright © 1999-2015 SimplyMaya - vBulletin® Copyright © 2000-2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.