Maya Training

Introduction to Hard Surface Modeling

Maya Training

Interiors and Furniture Vol 1 & 2 - Modeling & Cloth

Maya Training

Shading, Lighting and Rendering the Bedroom in MR

Maya Training

Robot volume one - Modeling with animation in mind

Maya Training

Spach-Alspaugh House the complete courseware

Maya Training

Burt The Cartoon Dinosaur Vol 01 - Modeling

New Maya Training

Robot Volume 02 - Hybrid Rigging
You are here > Home > SimplyMaya Community Forums
Loading

Welcome to Simply Maya

Please Sign in or Sign up for an account

Member Login

Lost your password?

Not a member yet? Sign Up!

Old 30-03-2005, 11:10 PM   #1
TheElement
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 19
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default computer for maya

Hey everyone. I'm looking for a system to run Maya. However, I need a mobile solution (I know you're already thinking "save and upgrade the desktop," but I'm fine in that department and mobility is a must). I have a budget of around $3000, give or take a couple hundred.

From what I've seen so far, the new Dell Precision Workstation M70 sounds like a great deal (I'm still drooling over the QuadroFX Go1400 it's packing). Also, it's one of the elite few laptops available that sports a 1920x1200 resolution screen. Of course, we all know what an adventure it can be talking to dell's tech support.

Does anyone have any thoughts on this computer? Are there any alternatives that you might recommend? Again, I know I would get a lot more performance by turbocharging my desktop, but it's simply not a practical solution. Thanks for your advice.
TheElement is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31-03-2005, 12:30 AM   #2
Adaron
Registered User
 
Adaron's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Bournemouth
Posts: 8
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

I don't know much about workstation laptops but I've heard good things from Alienware. Here's a link to their top laptop.

http://www.alienware.com/Configurato...de=SKU-DEFAULT

As you will see you can customise it to your liking, So upgrading to 1GB of ram a Quadro FX and the larger screen size of 1680 x 1050 may be just in your budget.

hope this helps.
Adaron is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31-03-2005, 01:57 AM   #3
TheElement
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 19
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Thanks for the reply. I looked into Alienware and it seems they have just the sort of system I'm looking for. I'll have to see about configuring it to my needs, but it's a definite possibility. Thanks again.
TheElement is offline   Reply With Quote

A little bit about who we are
Links you might find useful
Catch up with SimplyMaya
SimplyMaya specialises in Maya tutorials. We offer over 1,000 individual Maya training videos, ranging from basic Maya tutorials through to intermediate Maya tutorials. Our tutorials are created by instructors with industry experience and are designed to get you up and running in Maya quickly without making it seem like hard work.

Copyright © 1999-2015 SimplyMaya - vBulletin® Copyright © 2000-2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.