Maya Training

Introduction to Hard Surface Modeling

Maya Training

Interiors and Furniture Vol 1 & 2 - Modeling & Cloth

Maya Training

Shading, Lighting and Rendering the Bedroom in MR

Maya Training

Robot volume one - Modeling with animation in mind

Maya Training

Spach-Alspaugh House the complete courseware

Maya Training

Burt The Cartoon Dinosaur Vol 01 - Modeling

New Maya Training

Robot Volume 02 - Hybrid Rigging
You are here > Home > SimplyMaya Community Forums
Loading

Welcome to Simply Maya

Please Sign in or Sign up for an account

Member Login

Lost your password?

Not a member yet? Sign Up!

Old 05-04-2005, 03:03 PM   #1
bubbleme80
Registered User
 
bubbleme80's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 126
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Basic Animation question

Hi, is it possible to have a really high rez character, but instead of messing with the really hig poly char, animate a low poly dummy char and make Maya mimic the movement of low poly dummy?

if so, would anyone know where i might find a tutorial on it, or if simple just tell me what i could do?

Thanks.
bubbleme80 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-04-2005, 03:15 PM   #2
jsprogg
Lifetime Member
 
jsprogg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Chicago
Posts: 1,706
Thanks: 0
Thanked 85 Times in 77 Posts
Default

Hi you can make a low poly version of the high res and use it as a wrap deformer to animate and then only turn the high res on to render .
I don't know of a tutorial off hand for you to look at but the maya docs will explain wrap deformers although for a biginner this might prove to be a little envolved .
jsprogg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-04-2005, 03:04 AM   #3
bubbleme80
Registered User
 
bubbleme80's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 126
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

thanks! worked great. i make instance dupe to side of it so i can see it being manipulated, woohoo!
bubbleme80 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-04-2005, 03:32 AM   #4
Pony
Subscriber
 
Pony's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: with PonysGirl
Posts: 2,573
Thanks: 0
Thanked 6 Times in 6 Posts
Default

of corse if your smoothing on the fliy to get to the highpoly count, you can just tern on your smooth nodes when you want to render.
Pony is offline   Reply With Quote

A little bit about who we are
Links you might find useful
Catch up with SimplyMaya
SimplyMaya specialises in Maya tutorials. We offer over 1,000 individual Maya training videos, ranging from basic Maya tutorials through to intermediate Maya tutorials. Our tutorials are created by instructors with industry experience and are designed to get you up and running in Maya quickly without making it seem like hard work.

Copyright © 1999-2015 SimplyMaya - vBulletin® Copyright © 2000-2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.