Maya Training

Introduction to Hard Surface Modeling

Maya Training

Interiors and Furniture Vol 1 & 2 - Modeling & Cloth

Maya Training

Shading, Lighting and Rendering the Bedroom in MR

Maya Training

Robot volume one - Modeling with animation in mind

Maya Training

Spach-Alspaugh House the complete courseware

Maya Training

Burt The Cartoon Dinosaur Vol 01 - Modeling

New Maya Training

Batman by Jason Edwards
You are here > Home > SimplyMaya Community Forums

Welcome to Simply Maya

Please Sign in or Sign up for an account

Member Login

Lost your password?

Not a member yet? Sign Up!

Old 09-04-2005, 08:20 AM   #1
Registered User
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 18
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Render resolution.


I want my animation to be played on a DVD player.

The method I used before was:

Render the animation from maya as jpg image files.

Import the jpgs into Premiere.

Then convert these into an avi or mov file.

Finally burn the file onto a CD in vcd format using Nero.

The problem is that when the images are converted into a video file in premiere, they are losing lots of quality. I tried rendering the animation out at full resolution instead of 640 by 480 but after converting the images into the movie file in premiere there didn't seem to be an increase in quality.

How can I put the animation on DVD so it has better quality.

Thanks for any help.
siom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-04-2005, 08:44 AM   #2
BMS's Avatar
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Australia - Melbourne
Posts: 738
Thanks: 0
Thanked 6 Times in 6 Posts

You should set the output resolution to the same resolutions as the Project within Premier. This will depend on the format, ie NTSC or Pal, 4:3 or 16:9 etc

Hope this helps.

BMS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-04-2005, 01:43 PM   #3
uberstonks's Avatar
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: UK- Wirral - near Liverpool
Posts: 209
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

AND render tiff or tga rather than jpg. Yes it will mean a huge increase in files size, but it also means a huge increase in quality
uberstonks is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-04-2005, 09:10 AM   #4
Alan's Avatar
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: London, UK
Posts: 2,800
Thanks: 0
Thanked 5 Times in 5 Posts

don't render as jpegs because they are a lossy compression format and will introduce artifacts into your renders. Use tiffs or targas as uberstonks said.
Technical Director - Framestore

Currently working on: Your Highness

Alan is offline   Reply With Quote

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Batch Rending Render Layers Ozgalis Lighting & Rendering 7 07-01-2011 06:04 PM

Thread Tools

A little bit about who we are
Links you might find useful
Catch up with SimplyMaya
SimplyMaya specialises in Maya tutorials. We offer over 1,000 individual Maya training videos, ranging from basic Maya tutorials through to intermediate Maya tutorials. Our tutorials are created by instructors with industry experience and are designed to get you up and running in Maya quickly without making it seem like hard work.

Copyright © 1999-2015 SimplyMaya - vBulletin® Copyright © 2000-2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.