Maya Training

Introduction to Hard Surface Modeling

Maya Training

Interiors and Furniture Vol 1 & 2 - Modeling & Cloth

Maya Training

Shading, Lighting and Rendering the Bedroom in MR

Maya Training

Robot volume one - Modeling with animation in mind

Maya Training

Spach-Alspaugh House the complete courseware

Maya Training

Burt The Cartoon Dinosaur Vol 01 - Modeling

New Maya Training

Robot Volume 02 - Hybrid Rigging
You are here > Home > SimplyMaya Community Forums
Loading

Welcome to Simply Maya

Please Sign in or Sign up for an account

Member Login

Lost your password?

Not a member yet? Sign Up!

Old 09-04-2005, 03:08 PM   #1
SciBott
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: The 11th Dimension
Posts: 6
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default My P90

This is my model in the ready to texture stage. This is the low-poly version. Is it good, bad, could be improved? I modeled it using only polygons, I don't know about NURBs or SubDivs.
Attached Thumbnails
 

Last edited by SciBott : 09-04-2005 at 03:27 PM.
SciBott is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-04-2005, 03:57 PM   #2
Pony
Subscriber
 
Pony's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: with PonysGirl
Posts: 2,573
Thanks: 0
Thanked 6 Times in 6 Posts
Default

its a start. Hard to coment at a stage like this. One thing I did notice though is you have no edges going to what I belive is the thumb hole there. This could make it nearly inposible to work with there, make changes etc. As the hole is lost in the one big face that acualay serounds it. On your triger hole you have a edge going to it.. If you redo that spot I would sugest befor makeing the hole to have a edge going acrost there to split the face up in to 2 to give that hole something to bit in to sorta speek.
Pony is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-04-2005, 01:51 PM   #3
FubaR
Registered User
 
FubaR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 279
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

I wouldn't make the model out of one objekt (exept the clip).
I would make sperate parts and split the model thinkfully.
__________________
The Minas Tirith Project - Building Modeler
Minas Tirith Project - Homepage
FubaR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-04-2005, 04:53 PM   #4
mhcannon
Subscriber
 
mhcannon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Waianae, HI
Posts: 1,275
Thanks: 0
Thanked 9 Times in 8 Posts
Default

Are you working from a refence image? The stock looks a little out of proportion and you could divide some of the heighten areas better. I know its a wip and it's early in the progress so It's hard to give much criique yet. You do appear to have a problem in the barrel though, as some faces aren't appearing?

Link of M90 references just in case:
http://world.guns.ru/smg/fn_p90_parts.jpg
http://www.civil-defence.org/product...rearms/p90.jpg
http://www.airsoftplayers.com/p90/images/P90.jpg
http://neuroshima.valkiria.net/img/p90.jpg
http://www.arniesairsoft.co.uk/news/...-tac-sling.jpg

Good luck and happy modeling.
__________________

AIM: mhcannonDMC

"If you love your job, you'll never work another day in your life."
mhcannon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14-04-2005, 08:45 PM   #5
SciBott
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: The 11th Dimension
Posts: 6
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

No, the faces of the barrel are a selection shading option. The reference pictures are the profile shots from FN's site before it went under construction, so all proportions are perfect.
Attached Thumbnails
 
SciBott is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14-04-2005, 08:52 PM   #6
mhcannon
Subscriber
 
mhcannon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Waianae, HI
Posts: 1,275
Thanks: 0
Thanked 9 Times in 8 Posts
Default

have done any more work on the main body?
__________________

AIM: mhcannonDMC

"If you love your job, you'll never work another day in your life."
mhcannon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15-04-2005, 11:46 PM   #7
SciBott
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: The 11th Dimension
Posts: 6
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

I've been looking for a way to edit all vertices on one side of the model to move to one specific y-coordinate, is it possible without converting them all into objects?
SciBott is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16-04-2005, 06:09 PM   #8
Immortal1490
Subscriber
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 102
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

I have made many guns in my day, and Id suggest you rethink how you are doing this. You should start with a cube, and then start extruding outward along the shape of the reference. What you are doing now is leaving a bunch of edges that dont meet. If you plan on ever using this in a game, you are gonna be in a bit of trouble.
Immortal1490 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-04-2005, 03:26 PM   #9
SciBott
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: The 11th Dimension
Posts: 6
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

That is how I started, however, I need a way to allign specific vertices at one point, since some have been misaligned.
SciBott is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21-04-2005, 07:04 PM   #10
Jay
Senior Modeler - Framestore
 
Jay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: UK
Posts: 6,234
Thanks: 39
Thanked 425 Times in 381 Posts
Default

Dude you need to join that big face up seriously, as its like a 50 sided poly right now!! You'll have no real texture control either.

_J
Jay is offline   Reply With Quote

A little bit about who we are
Links you might find useful
Catch up with SimplyMaya
SimplyMaya specialises in Maya tutorials. We offer over 1,000 individual Maya training videos, ranging from basic Maya tutorials through to intermediate Maya tutorials. Our tutorials are created by instructors with industry experience and are designed to get you up and running in Maya quickly without making it seem like hard work.

Copyright © 1999-2015 SimplyMaya - vBulletin® Copyright © 2000-2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.