Maya Training

Introduction to Hard Surface Modeling

Maya Training

Interiors and Furniture Vol 1 & 2 - Modeling & Cloth

Maya Training

Shading, Lighting and Rendering the Bedroom in MR

Maya Training

Robot volume one - Modeling with animation in mind

Maya Training

Spach-Alspaugh House the complete courseware

Maya Training

Burt The Cartoon Dinosaur Vol 01 - Modeling

New Maya Training

Robot Volume 02 - Hybrid Rigging
You are here > Home > SimplyMaya Community Forums
Loading

Welcome to Simply Maya

Please Sign in or Sign up for an account

Member Login

Lost your password?

Not a member yet? Sign Up!

Old 08-05-2005, 06:22 PM   #1
alienscience
Subscriber
 
alienscience's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: In the middle of nowhere in VA
Posts: 749
Thanks: 0
Thanked 5 Times in 5 Posts
Default Another Guitar Project

Hi everybody. Its me again, I have re evaluated my work ethics (sorda) and have to decided to redo my tom delonge guitar project and finish through............................BURP! But anyways, I think I have progressed alot since my other project and am determined to finish this one, and on top of that I have upgraded from PLE to an actual MAYA version. YESSSSS! But the little time I have spent on the project and I have already come to a problem, It has to do with the curves. I read on the modeling guitar thread that the best way to model the body of the guitar is to draw a curve line out of the body (which I have done) but when I try to use the open/close curve command so I can use the Bevel plus to make the body I end of with this. It may seem like a good shape for my body but I get these weird little parts where the geometry intersect. PLEASE HELP.



THIS IS A PIC OF MY CURVE.
Attached Thumbnails
 

Last edited by alienscience : 08-05-2005 at 06:46 PM.
alienscience is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-05-2005, 06:49 PM   #2
alienscience
Subscriber
 
alienscience's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: In the middle of nowhere in VA
Posts: 749
Thanks: 0
Thanked 5 Times in 5 Posts
Default

This is my problem when I use Open/Close curve (I select ignore under the extra options for open/close)
Attached Thumbnails
 
alienscience is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-05-2005, 06:00 PM   #3
Scraggy_dog
Subscriber
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Manchester UK
Posts: 159
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Curve problem

Is the curve made from 2 duplicated curves attached?
If so, then you need to reverse the direction of 1 of the curves before attaching THEN bevel it as far as I know.

Regards Scraggy
Scraggy_dog is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-2005, 12:08 AM   #4
alienscience
Subscriber
 
alienscience's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: In the middle of nowhere in VA
Posts: 749
Thanks: 0
Thanked 5 Times in 5 Posts
Default

Hey, thanks for the help, but it is one single curve. And I get the geometry from the curve when I select open/close curves, I cant even get to the bevel plus without this problem.
alienscience is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-2005, 03:17 AM   #5
Scraggy_dog
Subscriber
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Manchester UK
Posts: 159
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default ?

Any chance of a lower view shot so i can clearer see what looks like "twists"
And how have you built it so far...

To help me help u Scrag
Scraggy_dog is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-2005, 12:21 PM   #6
alienscience
Subscriber
 
alienscience's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: In the middle of nowhere in VA
Posts: 749
Thanks: 0
Thanked 5 Times in 5 Posts
Default

Do you want a lower view AFTER I open/close them? If so I can do it tonight, have to go to school soon. But I will just edit this post.

Edit:Crap, you cant put in a pic for an edit if you didnt already have one, lol. Sorry

Just putting these links up for a school project so I can get it at home.

http://www.city.toronto.on.ca/

http://www.math.toronto.edu/toronto/

Last edited by alienscience : 12-05-2005 at 05:16 PM.
alienscience is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-2005, 06:43 PM   #7
Scraggy_dog
Subscriber
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Manchester UK
Posts: 159
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Hmm,
So If I understand you correctly, then you are saying that the geometry just appears out of nowhere when you close your curve?
Like before you even apply another tool?

Scrag.
Scraggy_dog is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13-05-2005, 01:25 AM   #8
alienscience
Subscriber
 
alienscience's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: In the middle of nowhere in VA
Posts: 749
Thanks: 0
Thanked 5 Times in 5 Posts
Default

Exactly what I mean, sorda weird. I think i will try to re create a curve outline again and see what happens next. I might have deleted history or undone to many times. But still I dont understand where I went wrong. Ill post a pic of the new curve after it has been open/close.
alienscience is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13-05-2005, 10:24 PM   #9
alienscience
Subscriber
 
alienscience's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: In the middle of nowhere in VA
Posts: 749
Thanks: 0
Thanked 5 Times in 5 Posts
Default

Ok I have now redone the curve and open/closed it and it work perfectly fine. But now when I do the bevel plus I get this. What am I doing wrong?
Attached Thumbnails
 
alienscience is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13-05-2005, 11:26 PM   #10
Scraggy_dog
Subscriber
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Manchester UK
Posts: 159
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Hi,
I'm not that sure really, looks very strange but looks as though something like a c.v. or two got moved out of position somehow, and is trying to connect up to that point then back... Look at the end of the "spike" see if there is a c.v. or more that may be missing from your curve.

Scraggy..
Scraggy_dog is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14-05-2005, 12:03 AM   #11
alienscience
Subscriber
 
alienscience's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: In the middle of nowhere in VA
Posts: 749
Thanks: 0
Thanked 5 Times in 5 Posts
Default

OK, im going to edit this post just to save space. I just wanted to say that I have redone the curve completely again and open and closed it with no problems. Then I decided to use loft for the body, I set the poly count to 500 and used fill hole to fill in the top and bottom of the body. I have a question though, it is about texturing, is it better to have more faces on a peice of geometry, does it make the textures look better? Because the part where I filled the hole only has one face in it. Ill post a pic on the body and the wire, along with what happens when I subdivide the one face.

Last edited by alienscience : 14-05-2005 at 02:03 AM.
alienscience is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14-05-2005, 02:11 AM   #12
alienscience
Subscriber
 
alienscience's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: In the middle of nowhere in VA
Posts: 749
Thanks: 0
Thanked 5 Times in 5 Posts
Arrow

...
Attached Thumbnails
 
alienscience is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14-05-2005, 03:02 PM   #13
Scraggy_dog
Subscriber
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Manchester UK
Posts: 159
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Noob attempts answer.

Hiya,
Glad you got it sorted out, and it's looking 'mighty fine'
Good work! As for the texturing, I'm not 100% sure of the answer, but 'I would have thought' that its not the number of 'faces' on your poly that will make a difference, only the 'resolution' of the texture applied to the region.
However I may be completely wrong, so I would like to see other comments on here so we both 'know' the answer.
(I'm sure I saw a similar thread recently, I will go have a look)



Regards Scraggy
Scraggy_dog is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15-05-2005, 01:00 AM   #14
alienscience
Subscriber
 
alienscience's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: In the middle of nowhere in VA
Posts: 749
Thanks: 0
Thanked 5 Times in 5 Posts
Default

Hey scraggy, thanks alot for the help. I really respect the compliment, thats probably the first one I have ever gotten :sad:. But atleast I got one So now I have moved onto the headstock, i am in the process of getting photoshop so I think it might be a while before I get to texturing. But so far I have made the headstock basically the same way as the body, ill post a pic of it. Ill also post a pic of the real guitar also.
Attached Thumbnails
 
alienscience is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16-05-2005, 04:28 PM   #15
I-Iybrid
Simply Maya OG
 
I-Iybrid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Queensbury NY, US A
Posts: 1,438
Thanks: 2
Thanked 14 Times in 14 Posts
Default

On your first attempt, it looks like you had the Bevel Plus options off. Try lowering the "Bevel Width" option. You dont have to close/open the curve, as long as the very last vert you laid out is snapped the the very first vert. Just use vert-snapping, and you should be fine. Hotkey is the "v" key. When I made my guitar, I used the Bevel Plus for both the body and the headstock. It gives them those nice slightly rounded edges. Just a suggestion.
__________________
- Hybrid
I-Iybrid is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Problem solving many dynamic objects in a pile? rohiniduggal Dynamics & Special Effects 3 14-01-2011 07:26 PM
apache environment problem andrew_sorensen Simply Maya Tutorials 4 08-12-2010 03:48 PM
Strange Problem - Unable to change attributes for multiple objects anthonysw3 Technical Issues 4 04-12-2010 11:56 PM

Thread Tools





A little bit about who we are
Links you might find useful
Catch up with SimplyMaya
SimplyMaya specialises in Maya tutorials. We offer over 1,000 individual Maya training videos, ranging from basic Maya tutorials through to intermediate Maya tutorials. Our tutorials are created by instructors with industry experience and are designed to get you up and running in Maya quickly without making it seem like hard work.

Copyright © 1999-2015 SimplyMaya - vBulletin® Copyright © 2000-2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.