Maya Training

Introduction to Hard Surface Modeling

Maya Training

Interiors and Furniture Vol 1 & 2 - Modeling & Cloth

Maya Training

Shading, Lighting and Rendering the Bedroom in MR

Maya Training

Robot volume one - Modeling with animation in mind

Maya Training

Spach-Alspaugh House the complete courseware

Maya Training

Burt The Cartoon Dinosaur Vol 01 - Modeling

New Maya Training

Robot Volume 02 - Hybrid Rigging
You are here > Home > SimplyMaya Community Forums
Loading

Welcome to Simply Maya

Please Sign in or Sign up for an account

Member Login

Lost your password?

Not a member yet? Sign Up!

Old 25-05-2005, 06:53 PM   #1
Bum
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Dothan Alabama
Posts: 13
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Unhappy Inserting Isoparms

Hello all,

I'm going through the "Puppy dog" tutorial by Kurt to learn Maya and he makes reference to the "Edit Nurbs" on his menu to insert extra isoparms. I just downloaded the 6.0 learning edition and "Edit Nurbs" isn't showing as an option. I thought maybe they rearranged the controls, but I can't find either "Edit Nurbs" or "Insert IsoParms" anywhere. The help makes reference to the same menu, but I just can't find it.

Any Ideas? Thanx in advance,

Bum
Bum is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25-05-2005, 07:04 PM   #2
Bum
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Dothan Alabama
Posts: 13
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

NeverMind all,

The menu dropdown box was set to "Animation" and not "modeling", apparently these are different menu setups.

Good to know....
Bum is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-02-2013, 05:37 AM   #3
Trever
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 10
Thanks: 2
Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
Default

Hey Burn, Im having this problem as well. I just started using the 2013 version. I can not find modelling in the menu. Looking to ( Select Edit NURBS > Insert Isoparms ) ya think you can help me?
Thanks
Trev
Trever is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-02-2013, 02:00 PM   #4
ctbram
Moderator
 
ctbram's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Michigan, USA
Posts: 2,995
Thanks: 42
Thanked 582 Times in 532 Posts
Default

It's is now under Surfaces>Edit Nurb's>Insert Isoparams (

In a very bad move, in my opinion, autodesk chose to rename some of the menus in what I believe was an attempt to unify the nomenclature between 3ds max and maya. But they did a half ass job of it! They split polys and nurbs into polygons and surfaces but still have some of the old naming conventions embedded in the sub menu items which is dumb!

This of course also has the consequence of screwing up people trying to learn maya using older tutorials!

Mind you in the release they changed the menus all they way to the current release they have added practically nothing new to Maya's modeling tools and have completely ignored nurbs for over ten years now!

Sure Maya can be customized all you need is to spend a couple years learning the api so you can program your own modeling tool set or work for a gigantic production company with a full time programming staff and a super secret set of custom plugins to do what most modeling packages both new and old do out of the box!
__________________
"If I have seen further it is by standing on the shoulders of giants." Sir Isaac Newton, 1675

Last edited by ctbram : 08-02-2013 at 02:08 PM.
ctbram is offline   Reply With Quote

A little bit about who we are
Links you might find useful
Catch up with SimplyMaya
SimplyMaya specialises in Maya tutorials. We offer over 1,000 individual Maya training videos, ranging from basic Maya tutorials through to intermediate Maya tutorials. Our tutorials are created by instructors with industry experience and are designed to get you up and running in Maya quickly without making it seem like hard work.

Copyright © 1999-2015 SimplyMaya - vBulletin® Copyright © 2000-2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.