Maya Training

Introduction to Hard Surface Modeling

Maya Training

Interiors and Furniture Vol 1 & 2 - Modeling & Cloth

Maya Training

Shading, Lighting and Rendering the Bedroom in MR

Maya Training

Robot volume one - Modeling with animation in mind

Maya Training

Spach-Alspaugh House the complete courseware

Maya Training

Burt The Cartoon Dinosaur Vol 01 - Modeling

New Maya Training

Robot Volume 02 - Hybrid Rigging
You are here > Home > SimplyMaya Community Forums
Loading

Welcome to Simply Maya

Please Sign in or Sign up for an account

Member Login

Lost your password?

Not a member yet? Sign Up!

Old 26-05-2005, 03:22 AM   #1
Phopojijo
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 408
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Error -- I believe in smoothing (FIXED)

I'll swallow my pride -- I do all of my modelling in Rhino -- and lately it seems that a bunch of my models have bad faces when they show up in Maya. Personally, I think its with the smoothing groups but I'll let you guys look at it.



Not a clue personally, any help?

Yes -- its supposed to be a low-poly remodel of the flood from Halo.

Also may want to note the bad polygon on the leg in the lower left aswell...

Last edited by Phopojijo : 26-05-2005 at 11:05 PM.
Phopojijo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-05-2005, 05:41 AM   #2
mhcannon
Subscriber
 
mhcannon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Waianae, HI
Posts: 1,275
Thanks: 0
Thanked 9 Times in 8 Posts
Default

have you checked the normals?
__________________

AIM: mhcannonDMC

"If you love your job, you'll never work another day in your life."
mhcannon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-05-2005, 06:14 AM   #3
Phopojijo
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 408
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Normals are correct -- verified by swapping "doublesided" off and looking from the inside out -- all normals are pointed outwards as expected.

It could just be my Maya though -- not the first crazy thing it did -- it also randomly removes all my viewpoint tools and replaces it with zoom window (orbit, pan, etc.)
Phopojijo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-05-2005, 09:03 AM   #4
mhcannon
Subscriber
 
mhcannon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Waianae, HI
Posts: 1,275
Thanks: 0
Thanked 9 Times in 8 Posts
Default

next trouble shooting step I'd take would be to turn border edges on and check out the wireframe to see if you have edges where you shouldn't...possibly a flip face.
__________________

AIM: mhcannonDMC

"If you love your job, you'll never work another day in your life."
mhcannon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-05-2005, 08:12 PM   #5
Phopojijo
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 408
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Nah -- though now that I think of it the same error's been happening to other models -- including some from other people which I use Rhino to convert to OBJ to view in Maya... maybe I should format/reinstall Rhino and Maya -- that might clear it up.

I selected the face and typed in

polySoftEdge -a 180

She's all clear now.

Stupid rhino :b

Last edited by Phopojijo : 26-05-2005 at 11:06 PM.
Phopojijo is offline   Reply With Quote

A little bit about who we are
Links you might find useful
Catch up with SimplyMaya
SimplyMaya specialises in Maya tutorials. We offer over 1,000 individual Maya training videos, ranging from basic Maya tutorials through to intermediate Maya tutorials. Our tutorials are created by instructors with industry experience and are designed to get you up and running in Maya quickly without making it seem like hard work.

Copyright © 1999-2015 SimplyMaya - vBulletin® Copyright © 2000-2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.