Maya Training

Introduction to Hard Surface Modeling

Maya Training

Interiors and Furniture Vol 1 & 2 - Modeling & Cloth

Maya Training

Shading, Lighting and Rendering the Bedroom in MR

Maya Training

Robot volume one - Modeling with animation in mind

Maya Training

Spach-Alspaugh House the complete courseware

Maya Training

Burt The Cartoon Dinosaur Vol 01 - Modeling

New Maya Training

Robot Volume 02 - Hybrid Rigging
You are here > Home > SimplyMaya Community Forums
Loading

Welcome to Simply Maya

Please Sign in or Sign up for an account

Member Login

Lost your password?

Not a member yet? Sign Up!

Old 09-06-2005, 04:14 PM   #1
BlingoLaLingo
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 5
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default firering batch rendering wont work

Hi
I followed the Fire ring tutorial and managed to render a frame successfully (great tutorial btw ). Since it was animated, I thought Ill render it as an animation. However, i cant seem to render anything animated. Ive searched the board and followed the rendering tutorial but it still didnt work. I have 120 frames which I set in the Render Global place. Image format is targa, and set as name.#.ext. Im rendering all and the camera is persp (Default since thats what view I was animating in). The frame paddiing I used was 3. I close this window, and go to Render......Batch Render. In the bottom right hand corner it says "Rendering using Maya software" then almost instanslty it changes to " Result: Rendering Completed. See mayaRenderLog.txt for information." However, when I go to my file directory I only have 1 TGA file (which is just black. Im assuming thats because the first frame is black and thats all it rendered). Any ideas? I also noticed when I load the file (FireRing.mb) I get this message in the bottom right hand corner."
Warning: line 1: Cycle on 'FireparticleShape.fireScale' may not evaluate as expected. (Use 'cycleCheck -e off' to disable this warning.)"
Thanks for any help. (apologies for the long post....just wanted to make sure all the info was there )
BlingoLaLingo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-06-2005, 05:13 PM   #2
niobi xd
Registered User
 
niobi xd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: brisbane, australia
Posts: 37
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Well i'm going to ask you what may seem like a stupid question at first but i know i did it the first time i tried that tutorial - have you told it the start and end frame numbers?
__________________
msn: great_expanse AT hotmail.com
niobi xd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-06-2005, 06:02 PM   #3
BlingoLaLingo
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 5
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Originally posted by niobi xd
Well i'm going to ask you what may seem like a stupid question at first but i know i did it the first time i tried that tutorial - have you told it the start and end frame numbers?
lol yup. I put 1 (then pressed ENTER) for the start, and 120 (ENTER) for the end frame.
BlingoLaLingo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-06-2005, 11:55 PM   #4
niobi xd
Registered User
 
niobi xd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: brisbane, australia
Posts: 37
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

cool...just checking

Could you please post a screen shot of your render globals? Sounds like you've got everything set properly.

- stace
__________________
msn: great_expanse AT hotmail.com
niobi xd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-06-2005, 12:44 PM   #5
BlingoLaLingo
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 5
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Attached:
Attached Thumbnails
 
BlingoLaLingo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-06-2005, 01:18 PM   #6
niobi xd
Registered User
 
niobi xd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: brisbane, australia
Posts: 37
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

ok thats all fine.

does the animation works in the perspective view in maya for you?

are you looking in the right directory of where it should be saving the files to?

how have you set your project up?...have u set it up to using defaults etc?

if this still doesn't solve anything...let me know if u use some sort of IM client and we'll see what we can work out.
__________________
msn: great_expanse AT hotmail.com
niobi xd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-06-2005, 09:20 PM   #7
BlingoLaLingo
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 5
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Hi
Im not sure if I have started a project. All I did was start Maya and do the tutorial. Ive got exams at the moment so Ill probably leave this for a while, and after that, if I havent found a solution Ill let you know . If you have any ideas feel free to post.
Thanks for the all the help, I appreciate it
EDIT: Yup all the defaults are used and I am looking in the right directory because the first frame is always present.
BlingoLaLingo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2005, 01:02 AM   #8
gohan1842
Subscriber
 
gohan1842's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 1,060
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

If I were you, I'd click Batch Render then open up the script editor to see when it's done. Then make sure you are looking in the right directory.
__________________
I'm not a geek. I'm a nerd.

msn - g1842@hotmail.com
I'm up for a chat anytime.
gohan1842 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-10-2005, 12:33 PM   #9
pitineo
Subscriber
 
pitineo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 1
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

had the same issue and it rendered when I select Render => render using => Mental Ray
pitineo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-10-2005, 12:20 AM   #10
MattTheMan
Registered User
 
MattTheMan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Fairfield, CT
Posts: 2,436
Thanks: 0
Thanked 18 Times in 18 Posts
Default

You have to change it from rendering a single frame to rendering multiple frames and then you have to change the output files from tiff to .mov or .avi
MattTheMan is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Batch Rending Render Layers Ozgalis Lighting & Rendering 7 07-01-2011 07:04 PM
Thumbnails in WIP & Finished Work Miss_Nova Site News & Announcements 11 09-12-2010 06:22 AM
Character animation-Finished work maheshsubbiah Finished Work 7 05-12-2010 05:04 AM
Saw II work mtmckinley Finished Work 8 16-11-2010 01:33 PM

Thread Tools





A little bit about who we are
Links you might find useful
Catch up with SimplyMaya
SimplyMaya specialises in Maya tutorials. We offer over 1,000 individual Maya training videos, ranging from basic Maya tutorials through to intermediate Maya tutorials. Our tutorials are created by instructors with industry experience and are designed to get you up and running in Maya quickly without making it seem like hard work.

Copyright © 1999-2015 SimplyMaya - vBulletin® Copyright © 2000-2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.