Maya Training

Introduction to Hard Surface Modeling

Maya Training

Interiors and Furniture Vol 1 & 2 - Modeling & Cloth

Maya Training

Shading, Lighting and Rendering the Bedroom in MR

Maya Training

Robot volume one - Modeling with animation in mind

Maya Training

Spach-Alspaugh House the complete courseware

Maya Training

Burt The Cartoon Dinosaur Vol 01 - Modeling

New Maya Training

Robot Volume 02 - Hybrid Rigging
You are here > Home > SimplyMaya Community Forums
Loading

Welcome to Simply Maya

Please Sign in or Sign up for an account

Member Login

Lost your password?

Not a member yet? Sign Up!

Old 11-06-2005, 07:35 AM   #1
acewatson
Subscriber
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 4
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Small problem in the Jedi Starfighter Tut

Hey Kurt, I've been working through your tutorial and doing quite well until i came to the part of the cockpit where im extruding the faces. It turns out akward and nothing like yours. I know its not right i just can't seem to fix it maybe you could help.?
acewatson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2005, 07:37 AM   #2
acewatson
Subscriber
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 4
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

here is SS
Attached Thumbnails
 
acewatson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2005, 02:22 PM   #3
Kurt
Registered User
 
Kurt's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Niagara Falls, Canada
Posts: 5,285
Thanks: 0
Thanked 64 Times in 64 Posts
Default

Hi, looks like you dont have your extrude setting right for keeping the faces together. To fix it go to polygons> tool options and click on keep faces together.

Thats should do it if not let us know.
__________________
I am enough of an artist to draw freely upon my imagination, knowledge is limited, imagination encircles the world. (Albert Einstein)

http://kurtboutilier.cgsociety.org/
Kurt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2005, 03:20 PM   #4
acewatson
Subscriber
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 4
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

I thought that might fix it, but didn't seem to. I still get the same thing when im extruding the faces. Should i have the settings on the extrude itself anything different than default?
acewatson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2005, 03:27 PM   #5
acewatson
Subscriber
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 4
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

I think i might have found the problem. Somehow i have extra faces in the model. Don't know how they got there but it seems to be messing everything up. Any way to get this fixed without redoing this entire section?
Attached Thumbnails
 
acewatson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2005, 03:58 PM   #6
Kurt
Registered User
 
Kurt's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Niagara Falls, Canada
Posts: 5,285
Thanks: 0
Thanked 64 Times in 64 Posts
Default

You can spend the time deleting the extra faces then make sure the verts are merged....
__________________
I am enough of an artist to draw freely upon my imagination, knowledge is limited, imagination encircles the world. (Albert Einstein)

http://kurtboutilier.cgsociety.org/
Kurt is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Problem solving many dynamic objects in a pile? rohiniduggal Dynamics & Special Effects 3 14-01-2011 07:26 PM
Strange Problem - Unable to change attributes for multiple objects anthonysw3 Technical Issues 4 04-12-2010 11:56 PM

Thread Tools





A little bit about who we are
Links you might find useful
Catch up with SimplyMaya
SimplyMaya specialises in Maya tutorials. We offer over 1,000 individual Maya training videos, ranging from basic Maya tutorials through to intermediate Maya tutorials. Our tutorials are created by instructors with industry experience and are designed to get you up and running in Maya quickly without making it seem like hard work.

Copyright © 1999-2015 SimplyMaya - vBulletin® Copyright © 2000-2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.