Maya Training

Introduction to Hard Surface Modeling

Maya Training

Interiors and Furniture Vol 1 & 2 - Modeling & Cloth

Maya Training

Shading, Lighting and Rendering the Bedroom in MR

Maya Training

Robot volume one - Modeling with animation in mind

Maya Training

Spach-Alspaugh House the complete courseware

Maya Training

Burt The Cartoon Dinosaur Vol 01 - Modeling

New Maya Training

Robot Volume 02 - Hybrid Rigging
You are here > Home > SimplyMaya Community Forums
Loading

Welcome to Simply Maya

Please Sign in or Sign up for an account

Member Login

Lost your password?

Not a member yet? Sign Up!

Old 13-06-2005, 08:48 PM   #1
serhat
Registered User
 
serhat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 59
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Post Background texture?

Can any one tell's me how to hold the image quilty? when i am making it big or is this not posible?

This is the picture

Greetz,
Serhat
serhat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13-06-2005, 09:14 PM   #2
mhcannon
Subscriber
 
mhcannon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Waianae, HI
Posts: 1,275
Thanks: 0
Thanked 9 Times in 8 Posts
Default

Looks like you need a higher res image texture on the background geometry. Pixels are still pixels when brought in to 3D, so you'll get ugly results from enlarging a low-rez image in maya, just like you would in photoshop.
__________________

AIM: mhcannonDMC

"If you love your job, you'll never work another day in your life."
mhcannon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13-06-2005, 09:23 PM   #3
serhat
Registered User
 
serhat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 59
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Owh oke thank you for your reply, does any one's know where i can find big images?
serhat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13-06-2005, 09:27 PM   #4
Shadeblade
Registered User
 
Shadeblade's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Grande Prairie, Alberta, Canada
Posts: 779
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default

Would making the background and the aircraft smaller work?
__________________
Nobody felt like avenging your death. Sorry.
Shadeblade is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14-06-2005, 05:45 PM   #5
serhat
Registered User
 
serhat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 59
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Hmm, I will test it thak you for your advise
serhat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14-06-2005, 06:50 PM   #6
alienscience
Subscriber
 
alienscience's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: In the middle of nowhere in VA
Posts: 749
Thanks: 0
Thanked 5 Times in 5 Posts
Default

No, that would only make the scene smaller. Why not just doing a google search for sky texture, or just plain old "sky" and make sure you have Large selected for image size. Or just do a quick web search for it and maybe you will find some good texture websites.

EDIT: SHAZZAM. how do you like me now? Nice model by the way.
(make sure you save the WHOLE PICTURE, just hold your cursor over the picture until a little box in the bottom right corner comes up, then click on it, it should enlarge. Then just right click, save picture as)

http://www.plainsfolk.com/seminar/we...argo%20Sky.jpg

http://textures.boom.ru/texture/sky.htm

Last edited by alienscience : 14-06-2005 at 06:56 PM.
alienscience is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14-06-2005, 07:45 PM   #7
FubaR
Registered User
 
FubaR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 279
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Did you made an Image plane in maya and rendered the whole thing together?
or did you render the aircraft on its own to set the rendered picture on the sky picture?
__________________
The Minas Tirith Project - Building Modeler
Minas Tirith Project - Homepage
FubaR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15-06-2005, 05:24 PM   #8
serhat
Registered User
 
serhat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 59
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

thnx for the posting, i had renderd it al at same time so i had used the background texture at a plane en rendered same with the plane. orr is there an other way to render it with a high quilty?

greets,
Serhat
serhat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15-06-2005, 06:42 PM   #9
alienscience
Subscriber
 
alienscience's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: In the middle of nowhere in VA
Posts: 749
Thanks: 0
Thanked 5 Times in 5 Posts
Default

Originally posted by alienscience
No, that would only make the scene smaller. Why not just doing a google search for sky texture, or just plain old "sky" and make sure you have Large selected for image size. Or just do a quick web search for it and maybe you will find some good texture websites.

EDIT: SHAZZAM. how do you like me now? Nice model by the way.
(make sure you save the WHOLE PICTURE, just hold your cursor over the picture until a little box in the bottom right corner comes up, then click on it, it should enlarge. Then just right click, save picture as)

http://www.plainsfolk.com/seminar/we...argo%20Sky.jpg

http://textures.boom.ru/texture/sky.htm
Um, did you not read what I said. Just get one of the pix I put from the links on the plane, you will have a much higher resolution, and therefore better pictures. READ FOOL (dr. T accent)
alienscience is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15-06-2005, 08:50 PM   #10
FubaR
Registered User
 
FubaR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 279
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

you can render the aircraft and render also the alpha channel
then you take Photoshop or any other good image editing prog and you load your background image an make a good size to it so the quality is good. then you load up you rendered aircraft image and in PS you simply have to drag the image (which shoud be only the aircraft without the black background from maya render) into you sky image.
__________________
The Minas Tirith Project - Building Modeler
Minas Tirith Project - Homepage
FubaR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15-06-2005, 10:46 PM   #11
alienscience
Subscriber
 
alienscience's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: In the middle of nowhere in VA
Posts: 749
Thanks: 0
Thanked 5 Times in 5 Posts
Default

Why not just render it with both the plane AND the background plane. All you need to do is replace the cloud picture that you have on the plane (background plane, not flying plain) with one of the pictures that are on the websites that I put up. Not that hard really.
alienscience is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16-06-2005, 07:36 PM   #12
serhat
Registered User
 
serhat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 59
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Hmmm, i have tested what you said. its a bit little better then what i did but i wil try that other option to to render first that background en then the plane alone without the background thank you for the options.

greetz,
Serhat
serhat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16-06-2005, 10:16 PM   #13
alienscience
Subscriber
 
alienscience's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: In the middle of nowhere in VA
Posts: 749
Thanks: 0
Thanked 5 Times in 5 Posts
Default

Then you wont get the proper reflection with the paste the airplane on the sky.

Edit: How about a pic of what happened after you rendered my idea?
alienscience is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18-06-2005, 08:26 AM   #14
serhat
Registered User
 
serhat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 59
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

You have right then i can't get reflection but what you said is oke larger picture to use for background but it isnt make a such difference i think i must use just the air from maya self, i can't find an other way. but thank you for your hulp guys

Greetz,
Serhat
serhat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18-06-2005, 07:45 PM   #15
jhaydock
Subscriber
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Bonny Scotland!
Posts: 116
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

If you render without the image plane, just map the image to reflection chanel of your shader. Then composit in Photoshop or equivalent. If you use the image alienscience found of the sunset, remember to light the scene correctly

Jock.
jhaydock is offline   Reply With Quote

A little bit about who we are
Links you might find useful
Catch up with SimplyMaya
SimplyMaya specialises in Maya tutorials. We offer over 1,000 individual Maya training videos, ranging from basic Maya tutorials through to intermediate Maya tutorials. Our tutorials are created by instructors with industry experience and are designed to get you up and running in Maya quickly without making it seem like hard work.

Copyright © 1999-2015 SimplyMaya - vBulletin® Copyright © 2000-2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.