Maya Training

Introduction to Hard Surface Modeling

Maya Training

Interiors and Furniture Vol 1 & 2 - Modeling & Cloth

Maya Training

Shading, Lighting and Rendering the Bedroom in MR

Maya Training

Robot volume one - Modeling with animation in mind

Maya Training

Spach-Alspaugh House the complete courseware

Maya Training

Burt The Cartoon Dinosaur Vol 01 - Modeling

New Maya Training

Robot Volume 02 - Hybrid Rigging
You are here > Home > SimplyMaya Community Forums
Loading

Welcome to Simply Maya

Please Sign in or Sign up for an account

Member Login

Lost your password?

Not a member yet? Sign Up!

Old 23-06-2005, 06:07 PM   #1
SpiffyAnim8ter
Registered User
 
SpiffyAnim8ter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: US
Posts: 39
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Angry Somehow I duplicated my vertex

Howdy, I am still new so be nice.

So I am trying to make my own little robot and I am working on the foot pads. I am modeling with polygons then converting to SubDs and adjusting then convert back to polys to make more additions or adjustments. Sort like the cartoon dog tut. Well some home I duplicated all my vertex. So when I move a vertex it moves but seems "empty" and makes no adjustments to my geometry. So I tried to merge these extra vertex and they wouldn't merge, no error just didn't merge. So I tried to delete and got some weird looking effects on my model. It looked like two surfaces were so close and one was partially showing through the other. So I grabbed all the vertex and pulled it off to the side and it pulled a duplicate of my model right out. I felt like a magician lol. But I can't delete the copy it deletes the original. When making any modifications or moving it does the action to both. Same with deleting. Anyone have a suggestion to get rid of this "copy" or what I did to create it? Sorta slowing down my creation process. Thanks


edit:: I tried to ungroup it thinking maybe I dupped and grouped, I got error saying "ungroup;
// Error: Can't ungroup leaf-level transforms //"

Now I am really confused lol.

Last edited by SpiffyAnim8ter : 23-06-2005 at 06:11 PM.
SpiffyAnim8ter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23-06-2005, 06:32 PM   #2
uberstonks
Subscriber
 
uberstonks's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: UK- Wirral - near Liverpool
Posts: 209
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default

Normally, verts wont merge if they are too far apart or the option is set to a very very small distance. Try upping the distance in the merge verts options, dont go too high though :-)
uberstonks is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23-06-2005, 06:34 PM   #3
SpiffyAnim8ter
Registered User
 
SpiffyAnim8ter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: US
Posts: 39
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

well the verts are right on top of each other. Some how I did something that duplicated or something. I can make vert changes on one but the other won't show the change. but in object form they are basicly the same thing. If I move it they both move. If I convert to SubD and back they both go. I have been trying to look up some info on leaf level transformations. Maybe that is what I did.
SpiffyAnim8ter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23-06-2005, 07:11 PM   #4
SpiffyAnim8ter
Registered User
 
SpiffyAnim8ter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: US
Posts: 39
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

I think I figured it out, or at least what it is. In the hypergraph I have an object."subdTessShape3 (mesh)" If I delete this the copy goes away and I think that fixes everything. So I guess my new question is how did this get created? When switching between poly to subd and back does this create extra nodes? Still new so maybe someone could straighten it out. Thanks.
SpiffyAnim8ter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23-06-2005, 09:56 PM   #5
Lookey
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 62
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

It happened to me a couple of times...It seems like it is a bug in Maya. When you convert to SubDs and back to Polys sometimes Maya doesnt remove the SubD version...I guess you just have to do it manually...
Lookey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23-06-2005, 11:38 PM   #6
SpiffyAnim8ter
Registered User
 
SpiffyAnim8ter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: US
Posts: 39
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

at least I figured out what it was in the hypergraph so I could delete it.
SpiffyAnim8ter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23-06-2005, 11:45 PM   #7
vladimirjp
Subscriber
 
vladimirjp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: stuck in the 90's boston, USA
Posts: 1,871
Thanks: 0
Thanked 4 Times in 3 Posts
Default

it s not a bug.

this happens when the shape node of subD is active and u convert to poly,

this often happens if u convert back to poly right after converting to subD, since maya automatically makes the shape node active.
__________________
Image dump
vladimirjp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23-06-2005, 11:50 PM   #8
SpiffyAnim8ter
Registered User
 
SpiffyAnim8ter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: US
Posts: 39
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

so if I convert from poly to subd to check it out it is best to just undo back to poly than to convert from subd to poly? I am still getting the hang of want converting to subd will do to my shapes so I switch back and forth quite a bit to see. Still new so this may not be the best workflow to use.
SpiffyAnim8ter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24-06-2005, 03:06 AM   #9
vladimirjp
Subscriber
 
vladimirjp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: stuck in the 90's boston, USA
Posts: 1,871
Thanks: 0
Thanked 4 Times in 3 Posts
Default

here is a script i ued to use when i modeled in maya.

its a toggle for going back and forth from poly to subD in one click.
put this on your shelf or assign it a hot key.
Attached Files
File Type: mel polysubswitcher.mel (4.2 KB, 9 views)
__________________
Image dump
vladimirjp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24-06-2005, 03:11 AM   #10
vladimirjp
Subscriber
 
vladimirjp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: stuck in the 90's boston, USA
Posts: 1,871
Thanks: 0
Thanked 4 Times in 3 Posts
Default

oops... double post to da izzie
__________________
Image dump
vladimirjp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24-06-2005, 07:48 AM   #11
uberstonks
Subscriber
 
uberstonks's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: UK- Wirral - near Liverpool
Posts: 209
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Talking

Thanks Vlad
uberstonks is offline   Reply With Quote

A little bit about who we are
Links you might find useful
Catch up with SimplyMaya
SimplyMaya specialises in Maya tutorials. We offer over 1,000 individual Maya training videos, ranging from basic Maya tutorials through to intermediate Maya tutorials. Our tutorials are created by instructors with industry experience and are designed to get you up and running in Maya quickly without making it seem like hard work.

Copyright © 1999-2015 SimplyMaya - vBulletin® Copyright © 2000-2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.