Maya Training

Introduction to Hard Surface Modeling

Maya Training

Interiors and Furniture Vol 1 & 2 - Modeling & Cloth

Maya Training

Shading, Lighting and Rendering the Bedroom in MR

Maya Training

Robot volume one - Modeling with animation in mind

Maya Training

Spach-Alspaugh House the complete courseware

Maya Training

Burt The Cartoon Dinosaur Vol 01 - Modeling

New Maya Training

Robot Volume 02 - Hybrid Rigging
You are here > Home > SimplyMaya Community Forums
Loading

Welcome to Simply Maya

Please Sign in or Sign up for an account

Member Login

Lost your password?

Not a member yet? Sign Up!

Old 30-06-2005, 05:41 PM   #1
SpiffyAnim8ter
Registered User
 
SpiffyAnim8ter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: US
Posts: 39
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Extrude Face problem

Got a quick question. When I extrude my face I seem to be getting an extrace face on the edge. I go to Edit Polygons->extrude face-> Options and I have no Keep Faces Together option. I think this is the option I need to keep from getting those extra faces right? If so how do I get my optinos back? Here is a shot of what I am talking about. This is in Maya 6.



Thanks for the help
SpiffyAnim8ter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30-06-2005, 05:49 PM   #2
vladimirjp
Subscriber
 
vladimirjp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: stuck in the 90's boston, USA
Posts: 1,871
Thanks: 0
Thanked 4 Times in 3 Posts
Default

select your mesh, go to Polyogn>clean up
and check on edges with 0 length , the value should be fine at the default 0.0000001

this will get rid of overlaping faces.
__________________
Image dump
vladimirjp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30-06-2005, 05:59 PM   #3
SpiffyAnim8ter
Registered User
 
SpiffyAnim8ter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: US
Posts: 39
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

ok that worked. Any reason why I don't have that option in my extrude face? no biggie to run clean up after each extrude just curious why the option is gone.
SpiffyAnim8ter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30-06-2005, 06:55 PM   #4
SpiffyAnim8ter
Registered User
 
SpiffyAnim8ter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: US
Posts: 39
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Another problem I have with these extrude faces is the vertices don't seem to be connected. If you grab an edge and lift it just peels off and doesn't raise the whole object. If you merge vertices then it seems to work normal. What the heck am I doing wrong??!! This is the first time I am using extrude face, normally I just split poly and go from there. For what I am doing now that would be more time consuming. Is there some setting with extrude face I am missing?
SpiffyAnim8ter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30-06-2005, 07:04 PM   #5
vladimirjp
Subscriber
 
vladimirjp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: stuck in the 90's boston, USA
Posts: 1,871
Thanks: 0
Thanked 4 Times in 3 Posts
Default

in the poly>tool options
check on keep faces together and convert selection
and then rtm
__________________
Image dump
vladimirjp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-07-2005, 03:55 PM   #6
SpiffyAnim8ter
Registered User
 
SpiffyAnim8ter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: US
Posts: 39
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

that seemed to work vlad. thanks for the help.
SpiffyAnim8ter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-06-2014, 11:51 PM   #7
Antonin Ganner
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 3
Thanks: 3
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Question

Originally Posted by vladimirjp View Post
in the poly>tool options
check on keep faces together and convert selection
and then rtm
Ok, I would love to know how you interpreted and understood this answer Spiffy!

There is no 'The Poly' menu, and no 'Tool Options' tool.
And then I have no idea what rtm means.. but I'm having this problem on half a dozen computers.
I'm no beginner but I just really don't understand what the hell he's trying to say lol.
Can someone point me in the right direction please?

Cheers =)


Edit: Seriously, this is really frustrating me now.. in "the poly>tool options"???? What the actual fck is he talking about? There is nothing called "The Poly" with any options next to it!!! Do you see a "The Poly" tool? DO YOU!?

Edit Again: Unless you're just talking about correcting the attribute in the history EVERY time you extrude..? =/ That would be disappointing.. it's a pain even with the CTRL+Shift+RMB way.. simply put, you just shouldn't have to do it.


Edit Again Again: Ok I solved it. The option itself for Keep Faces Together is actually a tickbox in the Edit Mesh menu, the very top option.. easily overlooked if you haven't touched that menu in years.

Last edited by Antonin Ganner : 07-06-2014 at 12:28 AM.
Antonin Ganner is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-06-2014, 06:20 PM   #8
Jay
Senior Modeler - Framestore
 
Jay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: UK
Posts: 6,234
Thanks: 39
Thanked 425 Times in 381 Posts
Default

Spiffy

Glad you sorted the 'code' out LOL

some of us older Maya users call the 'mesh' menu the 'poly' menu as that what it as called for a looooong time in Maya until around the 2008 onwards versions if I recall correctly.

Also one to look out for is us guys refering to the Render Globals....now its called Render options....bit of a pain but once you get really stuck in...it will make sense a bit better..

cheers
Jay
Jay is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-2016, 10:50 PM   #9
guevara1987
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2016
Posts: 1
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default problem

hey for some issues with my extrude. for some reason everything i select extrude my polyextrudeface menu doesn't pop up any more. i can't extrude anything even when i create a new polygon. this command keeps popping up on the bottom instead

// Result: polyExtrudeFacet -constructionHistory 0 -keepFacesTogether 1 -pvx 2.894925335 -pvy 9.753714879 -pvz 1.199107329 -divisions 1 -twist 0 -taper 1 -off 0 -thickness 0 -smoothingAngle 30 pCube21.f[60:61]

i don't know what happened and i don't know how to fix it.
guevara1987 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Extrude Manipulator does not appear Celebrus Technical Issues 11 15-10-2013 09:37 PM
Problem solving many dynamic objects in a pile? rohiniduggal Dynamics & Special Effects 3 14-01-2011 07:26 PM
apache environment problem andrew_sorensen Simply Maya Tutorials 4 08-12-2010 03:48 PM
Strange Problem - Unable to change attributes for multiple objects anthonysw3 Technical Issues 4 04-12-2010 11:56 PM

Thread Tools





A little bit about who we are
Links you might find useful
Catch up with SimplyMaya
SimplyMaya specialises in Maya tutorials. We offer over 1,000 individual Maya training videos, ranging from basic Maya tutorials through to intermediate Maya tutorials. Our tutorials are created by instructors with industry experience and are designed to get you up and running in Maya quickly without making it seem like hard work.

Copyright © 1999-2015 SimplyMaya - vBulletin® Copyright © 2000-2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.