Maya Training

Introduction to Hard Surface Modeling

Maya Training

Interiors and Furniture Vol 1 & 2 - Modeling & Cloth

Maya Training

Shading, Lighting and Rendering the Bedroom in MR

Maya Training

Robot volume one - Modeling with animation in mind

Maya Training

Spach-Alspaugh House the complete courseware

Maya Training

Burt The Cartoon Dinosaur Vol 01 - Modeling

New Maya Training

Robot Volume 02 - Hybrid Rigging
You are here > Home > SimplyMaya Community Forums
Loading

Welcome to Simply Maya

Please Sign in or Sign up for an account

Member Login

Lost your password?

Not a member yet? Sign Up!

Old 07-07-2005, 10:31 AM   #1
freeze
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 2
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Some Maya Ascii questions

Hi everyone,

I'm just doing an exporter for Maya that writes Maya Ascii Files and there are some things that just don't want to work

What I want to export is a cloud of points which I successfully converted to locators.

Questions are as follows:

Does every locator automatically get a transform parent if none is specified?

Is it possible to have a locator as parent of all others that groups them so that if the "master"-locator is moved, all others move as well?

Is there a way to set (a) the number of frames the scene uses (so not to have thousands of empty frames in the chooser bar at the bottom), (b) the standard viewpoint to somewhere else and zoomed out?

Sorry if this doesn't make much sense but I am quite new to Maya.

Any help is greatly appreciated.

Thanks
freeze is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-07-2005, 11:51 AM   #2
Alan
Moderator
 
Alan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: London, UK
Posts: 2,800
Thanks: 0
Thanked 5 Times in 5 Posts
Default

1> whenever you create a spacelocator it gets a transform and a shape node

2>yes group them together

3>yes:

playbackOptions -min 1 -max 100

4> find out what command maya runs when you select the locators group and hit "f" then just run that command.


A
__________________
Technical Director - Framestore

Currently working on: Your Highness

IMDB
Alan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-07-2005, 01:59 PM   #3
freeze
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 2
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

thx alot for your quick answers :bow:
freeze is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Maya Hair/Polygon Error ingram_no.7 Members Lounge 13 10-12-2010 11:27 AM
Simply Maya Resources Online Miss_Nova Site News & Announcements 1 08-12-2010 09:36 PM
LayoutTools for Maya 2011 is here... ctbram Members Lounge 1 06-12-2010 11:32 PM
Open a Lightwave file in Maya 2011 radiant777 Maya Basics & Newbie Lounge 2 04-12-2010 03:45 AM

Thread Tools





A little bit about who we are
Links you might find useful
Catch up with SimplyMaya
SimplyMaya specialises in Maya tutorials. We offer over 1,000 individual Maya training videos, ranging from basic Maya tutorials through to intermediate Maya tutorials. Our tutorials are created by instructors with industry experience and are designed to get you up and running in Maya quickly without making it seem like hard work.

Copyright © 1999-2015 SimplyMaya - vBulletin® Copyright © 2000-2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.