Maya Training

Introduction to Hard Surface Modeling

Maya Training

Interiors and Furniture Vol 1 & 2 - Modeling & Cloth

Maya Training

Shading, Lighting and Rendering the Bedroom in MR

Maya Training

Robot volume one - Modeling with animation in mind

Maya Training

Spach-Alspaugh House the complete courseware

Maya Training

Burt The Cartoon Dinosaur Vol 01 - Modeling

New Maya Training

Robot Volume 02 - Hybrid Rigging
You are here > Home > SimplyMaya Community Forums
Loading

Welcome to Simply Maya

Please Sign in or Sign up for an account

Member Login

Lost your password?

Not a member yet? Sign Up!

Old 18-07-2005, 11:22 PM   #1
BMS
Subscriber
 
BMS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Australia - Melbourne
Posts: 738
Thanks: 0
Thanked 6 Times in 6 Posts
Question Photoshop and TGA files from Maya

I've noticed when I out put TGA files in Maya, the background is Transparent in Adobe Premier, but when I open the images in Photoshop they have a Black background. Any thoughts as to why Photoshop opens TGA files this way?

Thanks
Paul
BMS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19-07-2005, 02:26 PM   #2
Renderizer
Subscriber
 
Renderizer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Germany
Posts: 276
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

That's normal. Don't know why Adobe deceided to handle TGAs like this, but Photoshop displays them all opaque.

The transparency information comes with the embedded alpha channel, so if you need to get rid of opaque areas that are supposed to be transparent, just make a selection of the alpha, invert the selection and then hit delete.

Don't forget to convert the background layer to a standard layer, or you'll end up with the selected background colour where the image is supposed to be transparent.
__________________
Subdivide and conquer!

Free your mind, and your ass will follow!

Last edited by Renderizer : 19-07-2005 at 02:38 PM.
Renderizer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19-07-2005, 11:02 PM   #3
BMS
Subscriber
 
BMS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Australia - Melbourne
Posts: 738
Thanks: 0
Thanked 6 Times in 6 Posts
Default

Thanks Renderizer,

Strange that it works fine in Adobe Premier and not in Photoshop. I'm guessing there is a reason for it. Thanks again.

Cheers
Paul
BMS is offline   Reply With Quote

A little bit about who we are
Links you might find useful
Catch up with SimplyMaya
SimplyMaya specialises in Maya tutorials. We offer over 1,000 individual Maya training videos, ranging from basic Maya tutorials through to intermediate Maya tutorials. Our tutorials are created by instructors with industry experience and are designed to get you up and running in Maya quickly without making it seem like hard work.

Copyright © 1999-2015 SimplyMaya - vBulletin® Copyright © 2000-2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.