Maya Training

Introduction to Hard Surface Modeling

Maya Training

Interiors and Furniture Vol 1 & 2 - Modeling & Cloth

Maya Training

Shading, Lighting and Rendering the Bedroom in MR

Maya Training

Robot volume one - Modeling with animation in mind

Maya Training

Spach-Alspaugh House the complete courseware

Maya Training

Burt The Cartoon Dinosaur Vol 01 - Modeling

New Maya Training

Robot Volume 02 - Hybrid Rigging
You are here > Home > SimplyMaya Community Forums
Loading

Welcome to Simply Maya

Please Sign in or Sign up for an account

Member Login

Lost your password?

Not a member yet? Sign Up!

Old 24-07-2005, 05:44 PM   #1
stephen.h1
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Northampton
Posts: 56
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Hardware render and Alpha

OK guys heres the problem.
I have a fountain of water which is hardware rendered and the animation causes some tree leaves to come in front of the water particles. Now I have geometry mask turned on for this , but the problem is that the tree leaf geomerty is masked but it doesnt consider the alpha channel with which the leaves are made of from. So how do you get around this. How do you get the hardware particles to come through the alpha channel?
Attached Thumbnails
 
stephen.h1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24-07-2005, 09:33 PM   #2
Alan
Moderator
 
Alan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: London, UK
Posts: 2,800
Thanks: 0
Thanked 5 Times in 5 Posts
Default

one way is to apply a black hole shader to it or apply a flat black lambert shader to the plant that way it will cut out the particles. But looking at your pic it shouldn't matter because if you are comping it afterwards just render the plant, fountain and the house separately and then stick the fountain in the middle of the other two.


A
__________________
Technical Director - Framestore

Currently working on: Your Highness

IMDB
Alan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25-07-2005, 09:32 AM   #3
stephen.h1
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Northampton
Posts: 56
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Hi there.
I know what your saying but because the geometry of the leaf is much broader than the leaf colour/texture which you can see, this blocks out the particles completely, but in reality you should see the particles right up to the edge of the leaf colour, ignoring the actual poly shape but respecting the texture/alpha.
Attached Thumbnails
 
stephen.h1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25-07-2005, 09:47 AM   #4
Alan
Moderator
 
Alan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: London, UK
Posts: 2,800
Thanks: 0
Thanked 5 Times in 5 Posts
Default

ok i see what you're doing. So do what I said and render the tree on a different layer! that way you don't need to worry and you can use the tree's alpha to place it ontop of everything else.


A
__________________
Technical Director - Framestore

Currently working on: Your Highness

IMDB
Alan is offline   Reply With Quote

A little bit about who we are
Links you might find useful
Catch up with SimplyMaya
SimplyMaya specialises in Maya tutorials. We offer over 1,000 individual Maya training videos, ranging from basic Maya tutorials through to intermediate Maya tutorials. Our tutorials are created by instructors with industry experience and are designed to get you up and running in Maya quickly without making it seem like hard work.

Copyright © 1999-2015 SimplyMaya - vBulletin® Copyright © 2000-2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.