Maya Training

Introduction to Hard Surface Modeling

Maya Training

Interiors and Furniture Vol 1 & 2 - Modeling & Cloth

Maya Training

Shading, Lighting and Rendering the Bedroom in MR

Maya Training

Robot volume one - Modeling with animation in mind

Maya Training

Spach-Alspaugh House the complete courseware

Maya Training

Burt The Cartoon Dinosaur Vol 01 - Modeling

New Maya Training

Robot Volume 02 - Hybrid Rigging
You are here > Home > SimplyMaya Community Forums
Loading

Welcome to Simply Maya

Please Sign in or Sign up for an account

Member Login

Lost your password?

Not a member yet? Sign Up!

Old 18-08-2005, 06:57 PM   #1
Budprince
Registered User
 
Budprince's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 3
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Unhappy Absolute neophyte!

I'm needing help in figuring out how to render imated logo I created as an SWF file. each time I attempt to output it using the maya vector selecting the SWF and name.ext (multi frame) it out puts separate files of each frame - generally in the format that was previously selected in Maya software (whether JPEG or IFF etc.)

Can anyone hlep point me in the right direction? I am self taught in maya (only 3 weeks old - so to speak) and am under a deadline

Any and all assistance is appreciated.

:headbang:
Budprince is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19-08-2005, 08:07 AM   #2
Drought
Subscriber
 
Drought's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Japan
Posts: 51
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default

Assuming you have Flash, do the following:

1) In Maya, render out as Targa. I imagine other file formats like .IFF work, but I have only tested with Targa files.

2) Download Virtual Dub (Google for it, it's free).

3) Open the first frame of your animation in Virtual Dub, and it will open the entire animation.

4) Save out as an AVI.

5) Import into Flash and save out as an SWF file.

Hope that helps.
__________________
Many of life's failures are people who did not realize how close they were to success when they gave up. --Thomas A. Edison
Drought is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21-08-2005, 07:25 PM   #3
Phopojijo
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 408
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

I think he's hoping to have the 3d model show up in vector mode, not as a movie stored in a flash animation. Not sure if Maya automate what people like homestarrunner does by hand though.

You got to admit that would be fun to see though.
Phopojijo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-08-2005, 07:30 PM   #4
Budprince
Registered User
 
Budprince's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 3
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Originally posted by Drought
Assuming you have Flash, do the following:

1) In Maya, render out as Targa. I imagine other file formats like .IFF work, but I have only tested with Targa files.

2) Download Virtual Dub (Google for it, it's free).

3) Open the first frame of your animation in Virtual Dub, and it will open the entire animation.

4) Save out as an AVI.

5) Import into Flash and save out as an SWF file.

Hope that helps.

Can't seem to get that to work, Drought V Dub only wants to open an actual movie. . . It doesn't allow me to open a sing frame Targa file still trying though
Budprince is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-08-2005, 08:11 PM   #5
Drought
Subscriber
 
Drought's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Japan
Posts: 51
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default

Hi there.

I'm not an expert by any means, but I may be able to help.

What error are you getting?

Am I correct in assuming you have multiple targa files in your images folder after you rendered?

Are your files numbered sequentially? Also, I have my frame padding set to 3 so that it numbers my files 001, 002, 003, etc.

Drought
__________________
Many of life's failures are people who did not realize how close they were to success when they gave up. --Thomas A. Edison
Drought is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-08-2005, 08:15 PM   #6
Budprince
Registered User
 
Budprince's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 3
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

the error I get when I try to open the first of the Targa files is: "cannot detect file type of "file name.tga.1"
Budprince is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27-08-2005, 10:46 AM   #7
Drought
Subscriber
 
Drought's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Japan
Posts: 51
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default

Your image naming format might be the problem; i.e. virtual dub might not recognize that as a targa file.

First, try just renaming the files to your_filename#.tga.

If that doesn't work, try changing your image file output settings in render globals to "name#.ext" and re-render. Also, don't forget the frame padding.

Good luck. Again, I'm not an expert. I have only played with this a little bit, but I hope that helps.

Drought
__________________
Many of life's failures are people who did not realize how close they were to success when they gave up. --Thomas A. Edison
Drought is offline   Reply With Quote

A little bit about who we are
Links you might find useful
Catch up with SimplyMaya
SimplyMaya specialises in Maya tutorials. We offer over 1,000 individual Maya training videos, ranging from basic Maya tutorials through to intermediate Maya tutorials. Our tutorials are created by instructors with industry experience and are designed to get you up and running in Maya quickly without making it seem like hard work.

Copyright © 1999-2015 SimplyMaya - vBulletin® Copyright © 2000-2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.