Maya Training

Introduction to Hard Surface Modeling

Maya Training

Interiors and Furniture Vol 1 & 2 - Modeling & Cloth

Maya Training

Shading, Lighting and Rendering the Bedroom in MR

Maya Training

Robot volume one - Modeling with animation in mind

Maya Training

Spach-Alspaugh House the complete courseware

Maya Training

Burt The Cartoon Dinosaur Vol 01 - Modeling

New Maya Training

Robot Volume 02 - Hybrid Rigging
You are here > Home > SimplyMaya Community Forums
Loading

Welcome to Simply Maya

Please Sign in or Sign up for an account

Member Login

Lost your password?

Not a member yet? Sign Up!

Old 20-08-2005, 10:25 PM   #1
sjurick
Subscriber
 
sjurick's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 136
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default WTF? Can't get rid of rogue geometry

Hi all. I'm having a slight issue that perhaps some of you have run into and figured out.

I have an object (canopy for a plane) and suddenly I have this rogue piece of geometry that will not delete no matter what I try.

I have tried deleting faces, edges and verts while it's in poly mode and sub-d modes. I cannot Separate or Extract it, but I can hide it and force it's Visibilty off, but it's bugging me as to why I cannot get it gone!

Any ideas?

Running Maya 7.0
__________________
"Please excuse the crudity of this model, I didnít have time to build it to scale or to paint it"
:: Dr. Emmett Brown
sjurick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-08-2005, 10:26 PM   #2
sjurick
Subscriber
 
sjurick's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 136
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Pic didn't upload...sorry.
Attached Thumbnails
 
__________________
"Please excuse the crudity of this model, I didnít have time to build it to scale or to paint it"
:: Dr. Emmett Brown
sjurick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21-08-2005, 05:13 PM   #3
mhcannon
Subscriber
 
mhcannon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Waianae, HI
Posts: 1,275
Thanks: 0
Thanked 9 Times in 8 Posts
Default

Check hypergraph to see if it has its own shape node. select the object, then graph the input/output connection. If you can find a node that selects just that piece, delete that node.
__________________

AIM: mhcannonDMC

"If you love your job, you'll never work another day in your life."
mhcannon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-09-2005, 10:01 PM   #4
Jay
Senior Modeler - Framestore
 
Jay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: UK
Posts: 6,234
Thanks: 39
Thanked 425 Times in 381 Posts
Default

or possibly a blind data node that can occur (subd history), again see hypergraph

Jay
Jay is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-09-2005, 01:52 AM   #5
sjurick
Subscriber
 
sjurick's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 136
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Thanks all. I was able to clear this through the Hypergraph.

Steve
__________________
"Please excuse the crudity of this model, I didnít have time to build it to scale or to paint it"
:: Dr. Emmett Brown
sjurick is offline   Reply With Quote

A little bit about who we are
Links you might find useful
Catch up with SimplyMaya
SimplyMaya specialises in Maya tutorials. We offer over 1,000 individual Maya training videos, ranging from basic Maya tutorials through to intermediate Maya tutorials. Our tutorials are created by instructors with industry experience and are designed to get you up and running in Maya quickly without making it seem like hard work.

Copyright © 1999-2015 SimplyMaya - vBulletinģ Copyright © 2000-2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.