Maya Training

Introduction to Hard Surface Modeling

Maya Training

Interiors and Furniture Vol 1 & 2 - Modeling & Cloth

Maya Training

Shading, Lighting and Rendering the Bedroom in MR

Maya Training

Robot volume one - Modeling with animation in mind

Maya Training

Spach-Alspaugh House the complete courseware

Maya Training

Burt The Cartoon Dinosaur Vol 01 - Modeling

New Maya Training

Robot Volume 02 - Hybrid Rigging
You are here > Home > SimplyMaya Community Forums
Loading

Welcome to Simply Maya

Please Sign in or Sign up for an account

Member Login

Lost your password?

Not a member yet? Sign Up!

Old 27-08-2005, 02:54 AM   #1
sloth_boy
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 6
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default High Quality Rendering Problem in Maya

Im using a X850Xt and the latest ati drivers (catalyst 5.8) and when i go from smooth shade all when working in maya to high quality rendering, i get these black marks all over the surface. Its like what you see when you drag vertices through eachother.

Here's a picture...



I've found 1 or 2 of the same problems on google but they had no solution. My card isnt overheating and it was like this when i was using 5.6 drivers aswell.

Anyone have any suggestions?
sloth_boy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27-08-2005, 08:06 PM   #2
utpal
Registered User
 
utpal's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: india
Posts: 203
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

i am not quite sure. haven't seen that happening before, but i do have seen a lot of other problems which are quite weird, and hard to find a solution to. it just might be that the problem is with your software installation and not with your disp card. maybe re-installing Maya or formatting your system might work. but, i am not too sure....
utpal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27-08-2005, 11:26 PM   #3
sloth_boy
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 6
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

thanks for your input anyway man,

Anyone else have any suggestions
sloth_boy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29-08-2005, 03:48 AM   #4
Phopojijo
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 408
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

I've seen that -- but in a completely unrelated instance.

Did you happen to have an exact copy in exactly the same place as each object? That's what Maya looks like if it can't decide what model to make the "visible" object.

Elsewise -- no clue.
Phopojijo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29-08-2005, 10:40 PM   #5
DJbLAZER
Registered User
 
DJbLAZER's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Gothenburg, Sweden
Posts: 1,318
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

I also get a really corrupt display in high quality shading, also some small errors here and there in maya overall. Maya doesn't seem to like ATI cards.
DJbLAZER is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18-09-2005, 07:18 AM   #6
sloth_boy
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 6
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

When i go to high quality rendering options, i turn off high quality lighting and it goes fine (just flickers a bit), so it must be soemthing todo with the high quality lighting?
sloth_boy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-09-2005, 01:56 AM   #7
MattTheMan
Registered User
 
MattTheMan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Fairfield, CT
Posts: 2,436
Thanks: 0
Thanked 18 Times in 18 Posts
Default

Yeah, Maya seems to HATE my ATI card. I have an ATI Raedon Xstacy card, and every few minutes it crashes and has to do a VPU recover... and some times it crashes and forgets to recover :p. And sometimes for me it flickers like that, but usually when it starts flickering, that's after its crashed 5-10 times!

Cheers,
,Matt
MattTheMan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22-09-2005, 08:31 AM   #8
t1ck135
Registered User
 
t1ck135's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: UK
Posts: 1,991
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Got an ATI mobility radeon 9700 (laptop) and almost everything works fine.
The only thing that's a little screwy is in the UV editor when viewing the texture. If you zoom out then it goes all crazy with the texture screwing up with lines everywhere but if you zoom in then it displays fine????

I just end up turning the texture display off
__________________
Examples of bTraffic - a traffic animation tool for Maya
bFlocking - a tool for Maya 8.5+ to generate flocking and swarming behaviours
Jan/Feb Challenge 2007 Entry and W.I.P
May/Jun Challenge 2006 Entry and W.I.P
Mar/Apr Challenge 2006 Entry and W.I.P
Jan/Feb Challenge 2006 Entry and W.I.P
Nov/Dec Challenge 2005 Entry and W.I.P
Sep/Oct Challenge 2005 Entry and W.I.P
Jul/Aug Challenge 2005 Entry
www.flash-fx.net
t1ck135 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-10-2005, 09:09 AM   #9
Phopojijo
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 408
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Personally if I were in your position I'd just hack it into a FireGL -- it'd be 100% legal if you don't commercially sell your works (and even then I think its legal... but that's up to ATI)

But if you like your warrenty (which you probably don't have anymore) then its not something for you.

And while your at it, cut that tag off your matress :p
Phopojijo is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Problem solving many dynamic objects in a pile? rohiniduggal Dynamics & Special Effects 3 14-01-2011 07:26 PM
Maya Hair/Polygon Error ingram_no.7 Members Lounge 13 10-12-2010 11:27 AM
LayoutTools for Maya 2011 is here... ctbram Members Lounge 1 06-12-2010 11:32 PM
Strange Problem - Unable to change attributes for multiple objects anthonysw3 Technical Issues 4 04-12-2010 11:56 PM
Open a Lightwave file in Maya 2011 radiant777 Maya Basics & Newbie Lounge 2 04-12-2010 03:45 AM

Thread Tools





A little bit about who we are
Links you might find useful
Catch up with SimplyMaya
SimplyMaya specialises in Maya tutorials. We offer over 1,000 individual Maya training videos, ranging from basic Maya tutorials through to intermediate Maya tutorials. Our tutorials are created by instructors with industry experience and are designed to get you up and running in Maya quickly without making it seem like hard work.

Copyright © 1999-2015 SimplyMaya - vBulletin® Copyright © 2000-2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.