Maya Training

Introduction to Hard Surface Modeling

Maya Training

Interiors and Furniture Vol 1 & 2 - Modeling & Cloth

Maya Training

Shading, Lighting and Rendering the Bedroom in MR

Maya Training

Robot volume one - Modeling with animation in mind

Maya Training

Spach-Alspaugh House the complete courseware

Maya Training

Burt The Cartoon Dinosaur Vol 01 - Modeling

New Maya Training

Robot Volume 02 - Hybrid Rigging
You are here > Home > SimplyMaya Community Forums
Loading

Welcome to Simply Maya

Please Sign in or Sign up for an account

Member Login

Lost your password?

Not a member yet? Sign Up!

Old 27-09-2005, 08:24 PM   #1
mmoore5553
Subscriber
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 1,043
Thanks: 0
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Default select tool not working

hey all ...

new to this all and i know this is probably something easy but it is killing me. I am trying to follow the tuts and I cant use the select tool ..it says no settings for this tool . I cant figure out how to reset it . I cant pick objects and stuff like that ..wondering what i am doing wrong.

thank you in advance


matthew


i hit reset tool and it doesnt help . I am in perspective view

i cant click on the shape or see the attributes of the shapes. i dont know what i have done lol ...

Last edited by mmoore5553 : 27-09-2005 at 08:32 PM.
mmoore5553 is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to mmoore5553 For This Useful Post:
Old 28-09-2005, 01:16 PM   #2
AlphaFlyte
Subscriber
 
AlphaFlyte's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Sweden
Posts: 326
Thanks: 0
Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
Default

Hmm overly asked question and answered many times already. Search is your friend my friend, but to quick start you:

In the menu: Display -> UI Elements -> Restore UI elements

There are plenty of options in that menu to customize the user interface the way you want it.

Here's a handy keyboard shortcut to turn off all ui elements as well: ctrl+space
__________________
Currently working on reclaiming Space
The Salvation Prophecy
AlphaFlyte is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to AlphaFlyte For This Useful Post:
Old 28-09-2005, 01:55 PM   #3
Alan
Moderator
 
Alan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: London, UK
Posts: 2,800
Thanks: 0
Thanked 5 Times in 5 Posts
Default

post a screen shot of your maya layout and also make sure you are not in component mode otherwise you wont be able to select objects.


A
__________________
Technical Director - Framestore

Currently working on: Your Highness

IMDB
Alan is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Alan For This Useful Post:
Old 28-09-2005, 02:10 PM   #4
mmoore5553
Subscriber
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 1,043
Thanks: 0
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Default

thank you ...I tried search but must of typed something wrong. i ddint ever see it ...thank you for your help and got it working .
mmoore5553 is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to mmoore5553 For This Useful Post:
Old 16-05-2014, 07:41 PM   #5
sadiq8998
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2014
Posts: 1
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default

Hello,

In the bar below the meny bar, there is an option called Select by Object Type. In the Buttons next to it are the select tools. Click on Select Surface Object and voila, back to normal
sadiq8998 is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to sadiq8998 For This Useful Post:
Old 16-05-2014, 07:50 PM   #6
stwert
EduSciVis-er
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Toronto
Posts: 3,371
Thanks: 74
Thanked 709 Times in 642 Posts
Default

This is a decade-old previously-resolved thread.
stwert is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to stwert For This Useful Post:

A little bit about who we are
Links you might find useful
Catch up with SimplyMaya
SimplyMaya specialises in Maya tutorials. We offer over 1,000 individual Maya training videos, ranging from basic Maya tutorials through to intermediate Maya tutorials. Our tutorials are created by instructors with industry experience and are designed to get you up and running in Maya quickly without making it seem like hard work.

Copyright © 1999-2015 SimplyMaya - vBulletin® Copyright © 2000-2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.