Maya Training

Introduction to Hard Surface Modeling

Maya Training

Interiors and Furniture Vol 1 & 2 - Modeling & Cloth

Maya Training

Shading, Lighting and Rendering the Bedroom in MR

Maya Training

Robot volume one - Modeling with animation in mind

Maya Training

Spach-Alspaugh House the complete courseware

Maya Training

Burt The Cartoon Dinosaur Vol 01 - Modeling

New Maya Training

Robot Volume 02 - Hybrid Rigging
You are here > Home > SimplyMaya Community Forums
Loading

Welcome to Simply Maya

Please Sign in or Sign up for an account

Member Login

Lost your password?

Not a member yet? Sign Up!

Old 03-10-2005, 08:13 PM   #1
Phopojijo
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 408
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default MELScript and MayaPLE

Just wondering -- I'm writing a MELScript to import Halo level geometry (JMS) from Maya... and I was wondering--

Does MayaPLE have the same MELScript (note: Its an ASCII-encoded... plain text... file -- I'm not touching the binary export button.) so if I make the MELScript of Maya Complete/Unlimitted -- will it work automatically for PLE? Or will I need to rehack it?

Basically what I need MayaPLE to do is grab geometry data, uv mapping, normals, and parents/layers... then write them down in a text file. (Compiling is done via an outside Bungie-made utility... so its indescriminate of what 3d program is used... it could even be lightwave for all it cares)

Can PLE Melscript take it?
Phopojijo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-10-2005, 09:41 AM   #2
Alan
Moderator
 
Alan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: London, UK
Posts: 2,800
Thanks: 0
Thanked 5 Times in 5 Posts
Default

I would assume it will be ok. You will be using the file handling stuff in MEL to write out the files so i can't see any problems with that.


A
__________________
Technical Director - Framestore

Currently working on: Your Highness

IMDB
Alan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-10-2005, 11:50 AM   #3
gster123
Moderator
 
gster123's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Manchester Uk
Posts: 6,300
Thanks: 1
Thanked 51 Times in 45 Posts
Default

I think there's a limitation to the PLE's MEL script length of 40 lines or so (this is from memory), Alias website on the PLE FAQ details the differences between the PLE and Complete versions.

That is, of course, if your using a long script.
gster123 is offline   Reply With Quote

A little bit about who we are
Links you might find useful
Catch up with SimplyMaya
SimplyMaya specialises in Maya tutorials. We offer over 1,000 individual Maya training videos, ranging from basic Maya tutorials through to intermediate Maya tutorials. Our tutorials are created by instructors with industry experience and are designed to get you up and running in Maya quickly without making it seem like hard work.

Copyright © 1999-2015 SimplyMaya - vBulletin® Copyright © 2000-2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.