Maya Training

Introduction to Hard Surface Modeling

Maya Training

Interiors and Furniture Vol 1 & 2 - Modeling & Cloth

Maya Training

Shading, Lighting and Rendering the Bedroom in MR

Maya Training

Robot volume one - Modeling with animation in mind

Maya Training

Spach-Alspaugh House the complete courseware

Maya Training

Burt The Cartoon Dinosaur Vol 01 - Modeling

New Maya Training

Robot Volume 02 - Hybrid Rigging
You are here > Home > SimplyMaya Community Forums
Loading

Welcome to Simply Maya

Please Sign in or Sign up for an account

Member Login

Lost your password?

Not a member yet? Sign Up!

Old 07-10-2005, 12:30 PM   #1
clopper
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 108
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default as few probs

I have a few probs, please try to help mem out.

1) I cant seem to find the extrude face/edge tool. I click on the button and the manipulator dos not show. I have gone into show modifiers but nothing shows.

2) When i do a uv layout projection, the manipulator is not there, so i cannot manipulate the projection at all.

3) When i create say a poly cube, I have to go into the box to change the amount of sub divisions, whereas in the past I have been able to change this by clicking on something on the right of the screen, yet now I cant seem to access this. If you are unsure what I mean, this si the box, where when you highlight the specific area you then use the middlemouse button to scrub. This is what I want to be able to do again, as its a lot easier and better to see how many divisions there are while the model is on the screen.

Hop you guys can clear this up fo me..
__________________
www.ace-productions.co.uk
clopper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-10-2005, 02:49 PM   #2
j5ive
Subscriber
 
j5ive's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Sunny Ol' Wigan, UK
Posts: 752
Thanks: 0
Thanked 6 Times in 6 Posts
Default

Read the manual or help files.
__________________
If you believe in telekinesis, raise my right hand.
j5ive is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-10-2005, 02:53 PM   #3
clopper
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 108
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

I HAVE BUT TO NO AVAIL. PLEASE HELP
__________________
www.ace-productions.co.uk
clopper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-10-2005, 12:50 PM   #4
clopper
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 108
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Please help if you can answer my query. I really need to know where my manipulators have disappeared to and also where my inputs box has gone. Sometimes it is there and others it has gone.Please help
__________________
www.ace-productions.co.uk
clopper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-2005, 10:46 AM   #5
Alan
Moderator
 
Alan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: London, UK
Posts: 2,800
Thanks: 0
Thanked 5 Times in 5 Posts
Default

ok yoru channel box has disappeared. go to:

display > ui elements > channel box / layer editor that should solve that one.

For the other question, when you need to show a manipulator just hit "t" on your keyboard and it should pop up.


A
__________________
Technical Director - Framestore

Currently working on: Your Highness

IMDB
Alan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-10-2005, 05:34 PM   #6
clopper
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 108
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

My problems are still not resolved.
1. When I say channeks box, i didnt mean the actual channel channel box, I mean the inputs box. It has plainly disappeared. This means that I can now no longer change the atrributes of my shape. for example sub divisions etc.

2.Also the manipulator still does not show. OK this works when I want to show/hide manipulators for move rotate etc, but this does not make a difference for the extrude tool. Ijust cannot get it up at all. all there is is the selected faces, and when i press the extrude tool a little result appears in the bottom of the screen but with no actual extrude tool.
pleese help.
__________________
www.ace-productions.co.uk
clopper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-11-2005, 12:33 PM   #7
bazore
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 2
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

thats strange.. ive got exactly the same problem with extruding faces.. theres no manipulator any more..!

i would be happy if anyone has an answer to that...
bazore is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-11-2005, 01:54 PM   #8
clopper
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 108
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

I have sorted it out now, what I did is go into my c drive and elete the maya folder called prefs, then reloaded maya and all was restored.
__________________
www.ace-productions.co.uk
clopper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-11-2005, 04:08 PM   #9
bazore
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 2
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

ok, i did the same and its working again!!

thank you!!
bazore is offline   Reply With Quote

A little bit about who we are
Links you might find useful
Catch up with SimplyMaya
SimplyMaya specialises in Maya tutorials. We offer over 1,000 individual Maya training videos, ranging from basic Maya tutorials through to intermediate Maya tutorials. Our tutorials are created by instructors with industry experience and are designed to get you up and running in Maya quickly without making it seem like hard work.

Copyright © 1999-2015 SimplyMaya - vBulletin® Copyright © 2000-2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.