Maya Training

Introduction to Hard Surface Modeling

Maya Training

Interiors and Furniture Vol 1 & 2 - Modeling & Cloth

Maya Training

Shading, Lighting and Rendering the Bedroom in MR

Maya Training

Robot volume one - Modeling with animation in mind

Maya Training

Spach-Alspaugh House the complete courseware

Maya Training

Burt The Cartoon Dinosaur Vol 01 - Modeling

New Maya Training

Robot Volume 02 - Hybrid Rigging
You are here > Home > SimplyMaya Community Forums
Loading

Welcome to Simply Maya

Please Sign in or Sign up for an account

Member Login

Lost your password?

Not a member yet? Sign Up!

Old 14-10-2005, 05:25 PM   #1
rendfox
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 23
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default selecting overlapping verts from multiple objects

I can't figure this out. Take a polygonal cube, extract one face. Now you have two objects. At each of the four corners of the extracted face there are now two overlapping vertices, one from each object. How can I select the two verts on a corner and manipulate them as one, while still keeping the objects seperate?
rendfox is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14-10-2005, 06:51 PM   #2
Velusion
Registered User
 
Velusion's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Utah, USA
Posts: 368
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

I think if you COMBINE the two object they will act as one so that you can pull the vertices around. After that I think you can UNCOMBINE (I think that's what it's called on the menu) them and they will be seperate again...
__________________
James Rogers
www.morphicmotion.com
Velusion is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14-10-2005, 09:10 PM   #3
portermalone
Subscriber
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 56
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

If you click and drag a small marquie around the overlapped vertices it will select them both. You can confirm this by looking at you poly count display. Be careful with the marquie because it can select unwanted vertices if the marquie is to big. Or turn on backface-culling if your having a big problem.
portermalone is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22-10-2005, 07:55 PM   #4
rendfox
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 23
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Thanks guys. I found that switching the selection mode to "Select by component type" and then "points" for the selection mask got me what I needed.
rendfox is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Problem solving many dynamic objects in a pile? rohiniduggal Dynamics & Special Effects 3 14-01-2011 07:26 PM
Strange Problem - Unable to change attributes for multiple objects anthonysw3 Technical Issues 4 04-12-2010 11:56 PM
New Feature: Multiple Image Upload David Members Lounge 0 30-11-2010 09:40 PM

Thread Tools





A little bit about who we are
Links you might find useful
Catch up with SimplyMaya
SimplyMaya specialises in Maya tutorials. We offer over 1,000 individual Maya training videos, ranging from basic Maya tutorials through to intermediate Maya tutorials. Our tutorials are created by instructors with industry experience and are designed to get you up and running in Maya quickly without making it seem like hard work.

Copyright © 1999-2015 SimplyMaya - vBulletin® Copyright © 2000-2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.