Maya Training

Introduction to Hard Surface Modeling

Maya Training

Interiors and Furniture Vol 1 & 2 - Modeling & Cloth

Maya Training

Shading, Lighting and Rendering the Bedroom in MR

Maya Training

Robot volume one - Modeling with animation in mind

Maya Training

Spach-Alspaugh House the complete courseware

Maya Training

Burt The Cartoon Dinosaur Vol 01 - Modeling

New Maya Training

Batman by Jason Edwards
You are here > Home > SimplyMaya Community Forums

Welcome to Simply Maya

Please Sign in or Sign up for an account

Member Login

Lost your password?

Not a member yet? Sign Up!

Old 04-11-2005, 11:08 AM   #1
Registered User
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 7
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Rendering problem

Sup ya'll, I'm having a slight problem with rendering as you can probably see from the picture below. When the image is in modelling mode, the shed isn't "transparent" like it is when I render it and I can't see the grass on the other side of it. I know it may seem like a basic problem, and I've only just started learning maya, but any suggestions as to how to sort this out would be most welcome. Thanks, peace.
Attached Thumbnails
drkillpatient is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-11-2005, 05:03 PM   #2
Senior Modeler - Framestore
Jay's Avatar
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: UK
Posts: 6,232
Thanks: 39
Thanked 425 Times in 381 Posts

If you are using fur or paint fx its usually better to put them on a render layer as problems like this can arise alot of the time because of the memory and swap space required for rendering Maya cant handle the compositing sometimes, so put the fence, shed and grass on a render layer each render the scene out as a batch, then pick up the images from your project directory and comp it all in Photoshop using layer masks.

Jay is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-11-2005, 07:51 PM   #3
Registered User
mc-fleury's Avatar
Join Date: May 2005
Location: canada
Posts: 914
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

look cool
mc-fleury is offline   Reply With Quote

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Problem solving many dynamic objects in a pile? rohiniduggal Dynamics & Special Effects 3 14-01-2011 06:26 PM
apache environment problem andrew_sorensen Simply Maya Tutorials 4 08-12-2010 02:48 PM
Strange Problem - Unable to change attributes for multiple objects anthonysw3 Technical Issues 4 04-12-2010 10:56 PM

Thread Tools

A little bit about who we are
Links you might find useful
Catch up with SimplyMaya
SimplyMaya specialises in Maya tutorials. We offer over 1,000 individual Maya training videos, ranging from basic Maya tutorials through to intermediate Maya tutorials. Our tutorials are created by instructors with industry experience and are designed to get you up and running in Maya quickly without making it seem like hard work.

Copyright © 1999-2015 SimplyMaya - vBulletin® Copyright © 2000-2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.