Maya Training

Introduction to Hard Surface Modeling

Maya Training

Interiors and Furniture Vol 1 & 2 - Modeling & Cloth

Maya Training

Shading, Lighting and Rendering the Bedroom in MR

Maya Training

Robot volume one - Modeling with animation in mind

Maya Training

Spach-Alspaugh House the complete courseware

Maya Training

Burt The Cartoon Dinosaur Vol 01 - Modeling

New Maya Training

Robot Volume 02 - Hybrid Rigging
You are here > Home > SimplyMaya Community Forums
Loading

Welcome to Simply Maya

Please Sign in or Sign up for an account

Member Login

Lost your password?

Not a member yet? Sign Up!

Old 12-11-2005, 05:54 PM   #1
ronkhmps
Subscriber
 
ronkhmps's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 51
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default new problem with polygon and subd

hello all
I know probably this sounds a little bit crazy. I have a problem again in converting poly to subd.
I am desiging a human body and everything was ok in desiging the torso but just today I faced this problem. when I am conveting to subd and I try to show the vertix but they don't show up so I can not work with them. but I don't have this problem with other part (head hand...) I don't know what is wrong? and how can I fix it. please help me if you have any idea in this case.
thanks
__________________
rsh
ronkhmps is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-11-2005, 06:56 PM   #2
MattTheMan
Registered User
 
MattTheMan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Fairfield, CT
Posts: 2,436
Thanks: 0
Thanked 18 Times in 18 Posts
Default

Right, so what you need to do is first you make sure that in the poly-to-subd option box, the max poly limit is more then the number of polys in your polygon model. That way it might not even convert.
But I think I know what is going on... I had the same problem just this morning. The divisions are all quads, so the SUB-D wont proccess the vertex information. TO fix this you select a vertice that DOES show up and move it VERY SLIGHTLY. The field grows, and you keep on doing this untl you get to the region you want to edit.
To do this you also may want to set the vertex display level to 0 or 1, not the default 2. YOu right click and click coarser. When you want to go back to 2, you use Finer.
Also, to get the actual polygon model to affect the SUB-D you right click and use Polygon. THen you use all of the normal polygon model techniques and tools.

Hope that helps
Cheers,
,Matt
MattTheMan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-11-2005, 07:30 PM   #3
ronkhmps
Subscriber
 
ronkhmps's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 51
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default about my problem

hi my friend
thanks for your help but your decription is alittle bit general so I get confused if you could please explain in more details
thanks
__________________
rsh
ronkhmps is offline   Reply With Quote

A little bit about who we are
Links you might find useful
Catch up with SimplyMaya
SimplyMaya specialises in Maya tutorials. We offer over 1,000 individual Maya training videos, ranging from basic Maya tutorials through to intermediate Maya tutorials. Our tutorials are created by instructors with industry experience and are designed to get you up and running in Maya quickly without making it seem like hard work.

Copyright © 1999-2015 SimplyMaya - vBulletin® Copyright © 2000-2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.